Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diver X

by kamend - Jam Entry

Diver X is a an infinite "runner", where a space ship is trapped in a tunnel, half filled with unknown matter that will take up your energy. Try to reach as far as you can, avoiding obstacles and flying alien jellyfish. It took me around 12 hours to finish the game (Thank you, Unity!)

Have fun!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#196Graphics(Jam)3.84
#332Fun(Jam)3.06
#350Mood(Jam)3.09
#368Overall(Jam)3.21
#373Audio(Jam)3.07
#619Humor(Jam)1.81
#668Innovation(Jam)2.30
#721Theme(Jam)2.04

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Too hard, but really beautifull. It seems to me similar with a previous game for LD28, but all games "infinite runner" are similar. Source available ?
Поздравляю тебя. Спасибо большое тебе братец ++

kamend says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

Thanks! Just added the source :)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Omg this is so good! I love this kind of 3d games!

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

The graphics are great, I really like the opening menu :) This type of game is right up my ally. The ship controls are a little frustrating since I have to rapidly tap left and right to fly in a straight line. The obstacles were difficult to see at first but I quickly figured out what to look for.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

Having lots of fun wit this, but I do sometimes seem to die when I am nowhere near a bullet or wall. The alternating movement, music, and quick restarts do a good job of creating a satisfying rhythm.

kamend says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

Hey Blueberry, I guess I had to explain this one better, when your ship is inside the part of the tunnel, filled with matter (or blue triangle particles), that will take from your energy and eventually you could die, without hitting an obstacle.

hathol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Woah, that thing gives me brutal motion sickness, but I like it! Needs an Occulus Rift version ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Very addictive! nice looking too. i would prefer it if the ship didn't keep rotating, but i guess that would make it easier....too easy?

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It looks pretty, but I had a really hard time with the control system. The constant spinning was difficult to control. Good choice of music though :)

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

This was fun. Strange, familiar and fun. Props for the soundtrack...

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

148! Yeah this is brutally difficult but that's meant I've kept playing this game instead of moving onto the next! Nice to see a bit of Unity Pro shininess too.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Amazing game, but i am felling dizzy after playing this game.
Love start menu!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Cool graphics, a little easy? (It wasn't running at full speed, I think.)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

It was a bit hard, i couldn't go to far even if I don't collide with those walls, need some kind of tutorial :/, art is really nice and was fun, but really really hard for me :/

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Oh man - thank you for the sources.
Spasibo tibie ++

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

Art was so nice looking. made me feel very dizzy though so the gameplay could use tweaking. could be a bit easier to start off with too

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56am

Two words: trippin' amazing! ;)

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

Not a bad concept, reminds me of Accelerator. I just randomly hit an invisible object and then the game ended for me sadly.:/ It could use some polish, but overall it's nice for a jam game.:)

zanenga says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49am

Cool game! I think it could be further developed to become a nice mobile title.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50am

Gorgeous!

Therrato says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

really well made, a bit hard to get past the first obstacle, and took me a while to find out that the material depleted energy,

holgk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:41am

It's too hard. I never made it through the first barricade. Maybe you should implement a difficulty system. Other than that it's a nice contribution.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:12am

Nice game.

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:20am

This is awesome, I really like the visuals.

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Transparent walls don't help :P Otherwise, love the graphics!

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Nice work. It was really hard to get used to control system

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Thought the controls were a little too sensitive, nice graphics/audio though :)

fermenter says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

This game was DOPE. I love these kinds of games. The hardness was actually a plus in my book. The one thing I didn't like however, is the obstacles could be very hard to see sometimes, and that's kind of a problem in a game where you're supposed to dodge them.

kamend says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

Thanks for all the great comments and suggestions, guys! I am definitely going to make a new version of the game pretty soon.

Brodenino says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:50am

It's nice that you managed to get the game this polished in just 12 hours, with a pretty interesting art style, and included a fancy menu :). Music is nice too, but the steering took a while to get used to, and I became a little dizzy after a while.

Moosefly says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Too much stuff trying to kill you combined with the annoying controls made it frustratingly hard. My record was 171 or so after maybe 20 tries. It's pretty and the sounds are nice, but I'm not too hot on the gameplay.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 16, 2014 @ 12:01am

Nice menu!

GFM says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:26am

Is it normal to few one's head spinning after playing this? XD

This was definitely unique, and the menu was so friggin' beautiful!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]