Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Seeker

by Konrad Zegis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with: C++ and allegro5
IDE: Visual Studio 2010
Graphics: Paint & GIMP

Bring evil ogre to valuable chalice hidden deep underground!

How to play:
-> Use arrow keys to move white spirit around.
-> Use numpad 4 and 6 to order ogre to continuously move left or right.
-> Use numpad 5 to order ogre to stop.

Hope you'll have fun!

IMPORTANT notes to recompile:
(1) I didn't include allegro SDK with source.
(2) Please change allegro references in project properties. I don't know why, but Visual Studio don't compile with relative path in properties :(

I must admit I'm secretly proud of it, it's my first compo ever, and hey I've done it! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#700Theme3.10
#757Innovation2.79
#780Fun2.76
#849Humor2.00
#1110Mood2.26
#1152Overall2.47
#1229Graphics1.80

Comments

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

One tip! if the chalice is underground, it would be good to give it a non-sky background. Maybe a darker brown?

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:35am

Simple yet fun :) And certainly more thing anything I could do in C++ in 48 hours lol

TeamKl0n says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice Puzzly game. I was hoping or more levels.

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Definitely a well-designed puzzle game! A bit short, but lots of potential here!

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:51pm

nice try

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The graphics are perfectly functional, albeit not fantastic looking.
The gameplay works like a charm and the light puzzle gameplay is fun.
There might be more potential in the puzzle mechanics than these levels showed.

iiechapman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Fun little puzzle game, would be worth reworking the art and maybe even adding WASD to move the OGRE, my keyboard does not have a number pad! lol

CiderPunk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:34am

really great concept! needed more levels to fully explore it

CeriseGhost says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:39am

Cool game. really liked the concept of it. Would have loved to have seen some more complicated levels :)

Rad Star says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:23am

good idea, but there should be a button to restart the level. I'm forced to quit the game and relaunch it if I do a mistake :/

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:25am

Thank you all for comments, I'm glad you liked my game :D

@Rad Star - there is restart button! Simply hit 'r'

May 4, 2014 @ 10:44am

Simple game, but it's fun. :)

davidB says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:49am

Nice puzzle game.

Muciojad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Very interesting entry, however graphics cries to heaven for vengeance ;) Your concept is original, there is some kind of digging like 2/5 all entries but also is there second character and this make game more interesting than rest of games about only digging.
PS gdyby nie przypadkowe spojrzenie na domene nie wiedzalbym ze mam do czynienia z rodakiem ;) Dobra robota, rozwijaj sie dalej! ;]

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]