Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Adventure of the anglerfish

by BuddaKaeks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The adventure of the anglerfish is a 2D adventure/survival game.

You have to get out of the way of the evil red fishes.

But yellow fishes are delicious, so try to eat as much of them as you can.

Good luck.

System requirements:
Java 7
500MB RAM
Graphics card with support for OpenGL 2.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#588Theme3.23
#648Innovation2.93
#736Mood2.79
#815Humor2.08
#886Audio2.04
#916Fun2.60
#945Overall2.77
#990Graphics2.50

Comments

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

View is very limited, maybe a bit too limited.

BuddaKaeks says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

The limitation of the view ist wanted, because anglerfishes usually live miles under the surface-- there is no light except from their own ones

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

great job with the effects

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Theme respected and good innovation, but the music was missing and hearing the same agressive noise when eating yellow fishes is really dibsturbing and irritating.
Good game though.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

The FX were cool! This is a decent game.

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Even with Tutorials during the loading scenes :o

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Even with tutorials during the loading scenes :o

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

It was okay, only if the view is a bit better, I would say this game is nice. Also, I am stuck with that red fish keep swimming back and forth at a narrow way, so I took too much damage and died.

Frump says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

"press space to skip loading" - Then why did we need to see a loading screen?

BuddaKaeks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:55pm

The loading screen's only sence is to show you useful hints..
Well, actually there might be better ways to do that, but useless loading screens are great, aren't them?

microwerx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:06am

I liked the game. I think it'd be great if the fish had a little bit of momentum to it. I think it would add to the feel of the game if the fish didn't stop on a dime. I think that if there was a power up to temporarily increase the range of the light, that would be nice too. It's great how everything goes red when you cross the red fish...

As far as music, I think slow, layered, arpeggiated themes with ascending and descending musical motifs go great for underwater music...just an idea if you were trying to figure out some good music choices. Reference "Aquarium" in Camille Saint-Saens work "The Carnival of the Animals"

tuxxilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Your game builds up a great mood. I really felt lost and anxious when I could't find wall tiles to orient on.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Great gameplay mechanic, like the most the upgrades

soy_yuma says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I like the narrow view! I think that adds to the mood of claustrophobia that poor anglerfishes have to suffer.

On the other side I found two details a bit annoying: the red fade when you hit or get hit by a red fish (it doesn't help you avoid other red fishes that are close) and restarting from the beginning when you die (first levels are kind of a tutorial that you already passed).

Overall decent game, I like it! Good job! ;-)

May 15, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Very fun game! Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]