Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Devil's Magnificent Return

by davidc02 - Jam Entry

While away in Sanctuary, a demon took over Hell. You must get it back for The Devil's Magnificent Return.

Use arrow keys to move, and space to fire.

Credits:
David Moron (@davidmoron) - Programming
Alejandro Socorro (@magnocloud) - Art
Rene Rivera (@composmusic) - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#80Audio(Jam)3.81
#183Theme(Jam)3.53
#216Graphics(Jam)3.78
#241Humor(Jam)2.91
#344Mood(Jam)3.10
#413Overall(Jam)3.14
#469Fun(Jam)2.81
#673Innovation(Jam)2.28

Comments

hgouveia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Great game really enjoy it, btw AWESOME art!

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Game was cool, the art was really good.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Deep hell rock'n'roll! :D

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Can i give you 6 stars for the music? Best music i've heard in LD26 so far.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Nice game, pana! Love the artstyle and René's music

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Genial!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Rocking art and sound! Disappointed it was all over so quickly tho

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Really cool. Well done for the developer ^^

increpare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

i got me some hell. You did the music yourself? awesome :)

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

nice take on the topic. the graphics and music are a good match and produce a cool mood!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

@increpare the music was done by René Rivera.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

Love the music, so good.

Make A Game says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice to see someone using the Devil/Hell for the theme interpretation. The art is great, I wish it would last longer, though :) Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44pm

A little short, but it was really awesome anyway. Had a few laughs when I noticed he attacked by screaming, it was a really nice touch.

Great work guys!

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

hahaha, neat game!, awesome art and freaking good music!.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

Short, but pure placebo, I love the art, and the music is perfect for the game.
I would have preferred if there were more feedback regarding states of harmed creatures, or when they harmed you.
GG

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

Game looked pretty good but the controls were a little bit goofy.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:52am

You did a really good job setting the mood in this piece, and I like the use of breath weapons--that's pretty innovative, and new for me! It was *cool*.

The gameplay is pretty rudimentary and the platforming is pretty much functional at best, with a short length, but for me the main thing that bothered me about this game was the lack of audiovisual feedback for attacks. It was difficult to figure out that I was being damaged, or damaging anything, except when enemies disappeared or my pentacle points dropped. In such a short game that was pretty inconsequential, but with any greater challenge it would have posed a real problem.

davidc02 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:38pm

VictoryGarden, thanks for your comments, I'll probably polish it way more in the future. As I mentioned on the postmortem, my main objective was to figure something out given a theme, and to work with the official 2D Unity tools, which I hadn't done.

I'm glad you enjoyed, and thanks for the great feedback.

JoshOS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Love the music, pretty cool with the art. Gameplay lacked immensely, but could be hugely improved on post-LD. Far, far too short of a level, also, even for LD standards ;)
Compliments to the firebreathing particles, although being able to use it indefinitely seemed to make it very easy!

Can't compliment the music enough though. Props to the musuican(s)!

May 6, 2014 @ 11:43am

Love the atmosphere and the bgm. The game should be longer. :)

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

Awesome graphics and music!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]