Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

BTS-1337

by icereci - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game Engine: Unity 3D
Art: Photoshop
Sound Effects: Bfxr
Music: FL Studio 11

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#442Audio2.94
#506Theme3.32
#514Mood3.03
#659Humor2.29
#718Graphics2.91
#989Overall2.72
#1010Innovation2.43
#1010Fun2.46

Comments

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

Although the graphics seemed very dark, at least on this display, what I could see looked very neat. The music helped to set the mood nicely. The gameplay itself was functional but not very engaging.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

A magikarp and a millenium falcon?!? I love this game! Nice graphics

Glint Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

The controls didn't work for me, I couldn't move but I could see some good work was done here, so well done :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

Only problem I had was losing track of mines once they became almost vertically above or below me. Perhaps a pencil thin up-down light would resolve that without breaking the reveal nature of the broad forward light.
Great atmosphere. Good job!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

The music was nice and I liked the idea of a side scroller that you can only see so much ahead.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

The limited vision provided a twist on a familiar style of game.

I felt it was a bit slow, so ended up on the right side of screen a lot, and then hitting mines while going backwards.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice mood and simple gameplay!
I did die a few times too many because I was evading a mine, or trying to catch a treasure and then running into another mine with my tail.
So yea, maybe getting a better indication where they are on the vertical level might fix that problem

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

i found the CARP!! GG. great sprites a little dark.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Well done ! Mood, Graphics and Audio are good and I like the easter eggs !

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Really.. immersive. Nice gameplay, well done !

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I found the Magikarp, but couldn't get the BTS-1300.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really cool! I wished things had changed a bit over time (maybe it did and I couldn't tell)

Something as simple as a color change, or different/more fish/treasure/bombs.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Star Wars inspired cartoonish style game!
Fun to see something besides pixels!

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

I liked the graphics, but the gameplay wasn't very engaging. The music was good, too! Well done!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Loved this. built on a mechanic I haven't seen before in a side scroller. Good job!

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice mood with the music + little light.
You get extra stars for Magikarp :D

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

38! Very atmospheric little game! No Magikarp for me though...

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

A game where most of the time all your screen show is blackness is not a good game in my book. Gameplay is about navigating between dangerous object and good objects without seeing well. Uninteresting. The graphics don't blend. Like, you left white outline around the mines. Bust mostly, they looked detached from the background and surrounding. Maybe because of their high resolution, level of details, lack of animation, staticness, or whatever.

Thanks for your participation.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

interesting idea, think the darkness is a bit too dark causing the game to feel a little random :) but it's a great idea!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Cool soundtrack, liked the lighting effects!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Nice idea & it has a kind of soothing rhythm to it. The music, in particular, was great!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

A bit... dark :p

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:12pm

I like the limited field of vision, makes you progress thoughtfully through the level.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Pretty good audio! The huge fish are pretty funny to see haha

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Has a nice touch to it! I would've liked a way to rotate the direction of the ship (or just the light source).

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08am

I think it's a bit too dark, but I understand what you were going for. Other then that it's pretty great!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

I found nemo! Or... nemos rather... the lighting really makes this game cool. Great job :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

It seemed dark at first, but then I realized you saw the items at a good distance with the light, just that the little glowy things were the first I saw and they were barely visible compared to the rest.

I guess that's what makes the challenge in the core gameplay loop, which is quite minimalistic otherwise.

Controls were fine, looks and sounds decent.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

I wasn't able to start playing. I was clicking the any key but it wasn't starting for some reason.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25am

wow - way to dark. too bad because under that darkness is something cool. that game over effect was sweet as well. nice effort.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19am

Hit a lot of mines going backwards. FOV is a little small. All in all a good game. Nice Job

rorycooke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

that game over voice is creepy :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:24am

I like how we need to coordinate between using mouse and the arrow button. Need a bit of skill when I have only the touch pad and arrow button :p

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

A very nice game with references, good gameplay & a great random level design. I love it, really. Congrats !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

Very nice, the lighting works really well.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Amazing atmosphere! And i love that "Game Over" sound!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

quite liked the music and the darkness of the game ..good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Good game, maybe the speed could slowly increased and the cone of vision be a bit wider.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

I wish the light was a bit brighter or that you could aim it behind you, but other than that I had a lot of fun. The background track was also amazing catchy.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Maybe a little too much darkness, but nicely presented and implemented.

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Audio makes good mood. A bit too dark for me.

rojo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The lighting effect looked pretty nice, and the art overall was pretty good. I would have been cool to have a little more action - like if the fish swam around or something. A little sonar wave that pulsed out infrequently to give you a brief hint as to where things are outside of the light might have been cool as well.

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:47am

cool game, funny stuff! I like the graphics, and everything seemed appropriately dark. Fun game!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:58am

I really liked the sound in this game. Art was not bad but inconsistent. The darkness mechanic worked well, but was a little monotonous. It would have been nice for some things to break up the rhythm, like faster moving objects or bonuses that light up for a second and disappear. Overall, good job!

mactinite says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:33pm

The music was nice, really mood setting. The gameplay itself was interesting, though I wish it could have been faster/more varied. Very solid 48 hour entry though. :)

zeh says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice concept!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]