Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Strata Dig

by Jared Sartin - Jam Entry

Multiplayer RTS - unfinished. Built with a custom multiplayer syncing server.

Design docs on intended game: https://docs.google.com/a/atomicobject.com/presentation/d/1ZPlGH-4uvji72ajAp6s5N1YRXEfcYd7TcFwyvNrFPBY/edit?pli=1#slide=id.g32fe7febf_2116

Hold 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 and click in the map to place a bot. Click one of your bots and then hold g and click the location you want them to go. They will wander, otherwise.

When other players join in the server, they can add bots as well! There is little outside of the multiplayer sync. :(

Team:
Jared Sartin (@JaredSartin)
Shawn Anderson (@FuzyPinkBunny)
Dave Crosby
Karlin Fox (@KarlinFox)
Job Vranish (@JobVranish)
Mitch Johnson (@ehntoo)
Corbin Phelps
John Van Enk (@sw17ch)
Dan Hronchek

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#256Graphics(Jam)3.67
#444Innovation(Jam)2.83
#503Humor(Jam)2.24
#633Mood(Jam)2.52
#682Theme(Jam)2.30
#721Overall(Jam)2.35
#726Fun(Jam)2.04

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51am

This looks cool, I hope you guys finish it!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

I don't know what to do with the bots I spam. The graphics are pretty good. It's such a shame that you couldn't finish it.

vicious_br says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

nothing happens

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Couldn't actually play against anyone and wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing. The graphics are nice and very fitting for the game, though.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

It looks very promising, and the sprites look so awesome. But there is not a lot to see. I hope you people continue developing this.

Now, I'm sure you know this already, but I miss some graphical/audio feedback when I select something or do something. Also would like if it was not necessary to hold the key, just pressing it once, toggling between "modes".

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

Looks like a great start to a game! Graphics are amazing, neat concept.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Cool idea, kinda hard to play at the moment. :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Love where this is going. Keep up the good work!

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Didn't work for me, nothing happened

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Some bug fixes have been pushed on syncing users.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nothing happens for me neither :( Maybe its because my keyboard doesn't have a Numpad?

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41am

Good job! Looks really cool!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Shame you didn't get more done on this, looks like a nice base to a full game!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I was alone on the server, will come back later

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I couldn't play the game. It just showed a black screen and a label "FPS" at the top right corner.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:52am

Cool looking bots, I'd like to see if more was added.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Not sure if I played the game right :X I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Nice graphics :)

littleball says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Looks promising. Keep up the good work.

copain says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:21pm

too ambitious? Nice start.

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Good start, but far from finished. I had the same problem. Graphics are looking good.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]