Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Calls To Deep

by Romko Pidstryhach - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry.

"Do you hear the voices of those sunken ships? Can you hear them calling you? Can you reach to the deepest point? Can you find what lies beneath the bottom of the ocean?"

Controls:
- WASD or arrow keys to move.

Enjoy!

UPDATE:

Not sure if its possible to reply to entry comments, so I'll just leave it here:

Thank you all guys for playing!

I'm going to fix all mentioned flaws, add some stuff here and there, extend gameplay and release post-compo version (maybe mobile too?).

Also, for those interested in my toolset:
- FlashPunk (framework)
- Paint.NET (art)
- Studio One DAW + Xakt VSTi + Audacity + few recordings made using some bottles with water and metal things of unknown origin.
- BITFONTMAKER2 (font, obviously).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#10Audio4.21
#10Graphics4.57
#18Mood4.22
#73Overall3.88
#157Theme3.75
#365Fun3.26
#807Humor2.10
#810Innovation2.71

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

I liked the game a lot, had a certain beauty to it. The graphics were nice for the game, the gameplay was fun, I liked the ending, and the music was very chilling and nice to listen too. My one complaint is the fact it was randomly generated had flaws, and sometimes made certain sections impossible to beat (sometimes a jellyfish would be block the whole of a narrow corridor, or there'd be no bubbles in time, at least both of these happened to me once), however, it's a game that definitely had a nice atmosphere to it.

TsFreddie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

I love that background music.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Really, really lovely art. The overall feel of the game is really great. I really felt like I was diving deep underwater. Overall, very atmospheric game. Great job!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31am

It looks and sounds great. The controls felt good too. My only issues were with the difficulty feeling very random, and the collision detection on the walls being a bit harsh.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38am

WOW! aaah those fish! aah those rays of light at the surface! Aah everything! good job man, good job!

The only criticism I have is that the collision checking should be more forgiving. When I bump into the wall, it often feels unfair. Also I think it's too difficult, I really wanted to see the ending but it's too hard! But maybe that's just me. I'll try again later :3

Really, awesome job! My fav entry yet

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Lovely music, great graphics. Really nice

devince says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

Congrats really good game! Spent a beautiful but dangerous time beneath the surface.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Awesome atmosphere. The biggest flaw is, that sometimes it's impossible to continue, just because the bubbles are too far away from each other. Otherwise, very very nice job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Beautiful game both visuals and audio. Great job.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Beautiful...

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I like the graphics!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very beautiful, but not especially enjoyable. Failure seemed to come from bad luck, rather than player mistake.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very atmospheric... Most of the stuff I have issue with has already been said by others (REALLY precise collision detection, unfair random object placement), but overall, I like the feeling of the game! :)

rorycooke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

this is the best one I've played so far

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Beautiful graphics, audio and very nice atmosphere. But that same atmosphere is very deceiving. The game is way harder than it looks! And sometimes I encountered impossible situations. Like a narrow path completely filled with jellyfish.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15pm

That's really beautiful!

The only flaw is that the random placement of jellyfish & air bubbles sometimes meant that the game became impossible at some points. Easily solved by restarting though.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Excellent abd beautiful art, music, and great execution.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

Really nice atmosphere !
It's so beautiful and smooth (:
What engine did you use ?

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

I really enjoyed how the game begins with that initial splash, as you descend. The atmospheric aspects are also very appealing, great work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38am

Really nice graphics and I like the game itself. Hard but fun. I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Very solid game, but I wish it had more depth. Haha... joke aside, I wanted to say that I wish it had more gameplay elements. The visual and the background music are very well made. Nice!

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Nice mood, beautiful graphics.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Stunning visuals.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really nice Flash game. Mood is nice and gameplay is challenging. :)

brother.byto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Wow, nice graphics, nice sound, nice mood, nice controls, only the ending was a little bit disturbing and for me didn't really fit to the rest of the game.
Difficulty is indeed very random, but i think still ok.

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52am

I found the randomization to be a touch game breaking, as it would very rarely just block your path completely or not put a reachable bubble some place where it's needed, but that's forgivable for how beautiful and atmospheric the game is. Good presentation on a simple, but very functional concept.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Great work. I like your palette choice. Is there an ending? Is there a deepest point? I want to know, but it's hard. :)

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

It's hard to be so harsh on such a very pretty and pretty sounding game, but, it got really frustrating. That has to do with the awful random aspect of it. There'd be too many jellies in a tight corner, or a bubble would be too close to the edge. Still, very pretty!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

great work! really nice art and effects! All in all well done. the animation while hitting the wall / rock made me feel it. I hope to see more of you in the future (- :

May 1, 2014 @ 11:52am

Beautiful and impressive sound atmosphere. Maybe you should add some sound/visual feedback, especially when you're about to run out of oxygen.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:27am

Haunting plunge into ghost jellies. Lovely colors and sad feelings.

Cawrtz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:20pm

This game is beautiful. Huge efforts on pixel art, light and particle effects! This game is very easy to play, has dead-simple controls and realistic physics.

Audio won't play on my computer, but that's probably just me.

It looks like you did the level generation in a way that there is no enemies blocking completely the path. That's cool.

Good job :)

praporomsk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Beautiful game and perfectly fits theme. One little thing I'd like to add to the game is point counter that shows you how deep you are.

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:06am

Absolutely beautiful, simple in concept, but unforgiving. Touch anything, die. Miss a single bubble, you can't make it. With a little improvement it could be really great.

Daveloper says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:19am

A somewhat straightforward concept, but very well presented; both visually and aurally. The sound does a great job at creating a rather melancholy atmosphere and makes the game richer for it. Very nice work :)

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Very much enjoyed this. Loved the simplicity and how incredibly well executed it was!!!

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice mood and graphics. Realy like it

travislucia says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Really great looking, needs a depth score or meter so I can determine how far i've gone. Great Job

May 6, 2014 @ 7:18pm

A really mesermizing game. Superb sound and mood, nice and simple gameplay. I really like this one.

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:17pm

A very solid and consistant entry. Amazing job for a first entry.

thaaks says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Beautiful game! The music and sound improved the mood a lot! The graphics have a nice style, glow a bit and also fit the darkness of the sea!
I loved the bubbles of the diver and their movement - wonderful.
Placement of bubbles and jellyfish seems to be pure random so there are sometimes unpassable situations.
Nevertheless it's a great game that I love to play! Very good job!

Anoarith says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Awesome game, especially for a first entry *o* ! This game needs a scoring system so much :D !

iSamurai says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:22am

Beautiful game. The use of light sprites in the title screen is vivid. The bubble particles is also very real. Gameplay is also fun and challenging. Nice work.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Love this art and ambience so much! Congrats with a debut, great entry!

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I loved this! great job! its really elegantly simple and the graphics and mood are just perfect. i think it would be nice to start off with a few less jellies and but that's just my taste

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:50am

Great atmospher created by the music and art, I like the interpretation of the theme. Aside from the random generation flaws I also find it odd to die whenever you hit a flat wall and I think that, due to the several flaws, the game should be shorter. At least the LD version.

~AlucardX60

lekochen says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:17am

Great pixel art & music. This is beautiful.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Incredible graphics and cool audio.

NickZangus says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:05am

Amazing entry! Very nice graphics and sound! Good job!

May 14, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Hello nightmares, I love the ending, a bit expected and unexpected if you know what I mean(or not) I love this game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:11am

really good game - a shame it has not been played more - there were a few places where it was impossible to pass the jellyfish - greay job

jorgemoag says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:18am

Fantastic sound, graph and mood! I love it!
Maybe I miss a deep counter

PriorBlue says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Great atmosphere and nice combination of pixel art and bloom effect.

Teejay5 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:49pm

So pretty and ambient! Great entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]