Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave of Jagnog

by danidre14 - Jam Entry

Your name is Andrew. You are now standing in line for a job interview to be a construction worker. Whilst walking to the manager, a table from the story above you accidentally slides out through a big open hole in the (still under construction) wall, and falls right on your head. You fall, fall, fall, into a hole and deep underground. A few hours later you wake up, in a different place as before. You now have to fend for yourself and find a way out of that cave.
----------------------------------------------------------

I did not get to finish. Was not able to add music, sound, proper story, and did not get to polish it. But I'll send a link as soon as I do all of those things, out of the Ludum Dare itself. I'm continuing to finish this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#311Humor(Jam)2.72
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#505Fun(Jam)2.75
#543Mood(Jam)2.76
#638Overall(Jam)2.70
#673Audio(Jam)1.46
#692Graphics(Jam)2.34
#710Innovation(Jam)2.16

Comments

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

I played it all the way to the end, keep working on it!

I like how you tutorialized it, but there's an issue at the start. You need to move before you can see the tutorial step that says how to move - a tricky thing.

dddaaannn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06am

Good work! No need for the apology at the end, I think this is a nice size for a game jam.

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06am

Potions didnt seem to work for me, but otherwise a great game.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Super claustrophobic, which works in its favor, I think.

...I may have cheesed the boss to death after it got stuck on a corner.

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

I know all too well the frustration of running out of time and not getting to finish, so I fully sympathize :( That in mind, some feedback:

It felt wayyy too zoomed in. I guess you were trying to keep players from being able to see the "maze," but there are better ways to handle that. Even just zoomed out a little would be nice, I could barely see the enemies I was shooting at. You might want to look into something like "line of sight" algorithms for blacking out parts of the level and whatnot.

I like the comic-book feel of the story telling. It kind of feels like I'm playing through a web-comic or something, which is cool. I wish there were more levels/story and sounds/music, but I understand time was an issue.

I wish you best of luck in the future! Kudos to you for building up the motivation and actually working on a game this weekend. Many of my friends always say they're gonna participate but then back down at the last minute. At least you stuck through it, so good for you.

Mstrp2ez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22am

Good job, the signs makes it clear what you need to do to progress, the very first sign telling you to use wasd for movement is hidden from view until you figure out that you move with wasd however, i smiled at that. Overall a very good job.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

Good start, keep up the work. I like the way you animated this boy.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38am

Seems like a great concept, some of the potions didnt work however!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Well done. I think you could make the player a bit shorter though. He takes up a lot of screen space.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Hey Danidre! Congratz on your submission! I really like the claustrophobic feel of the game, I'm glad you took the idea so far! I hope you keep improving your games!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice game! The story at the start is cool, and I love what you did with all of the different mechanics! Great job! :D

That spider is evil.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Thanks a lot Alex, you game was a lot better than mine. But I liked the glitch where I fall because the explosion came up to me, then I ran up the wall, it exploded, I fell, ran up another wall continuously until I got up safe to a checkpoint. Yes the spiders are evil. But there are more mobs to come in the fully released game.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice job, danidre! I liked the art, but it'd be better if you had done sounds, or made the first level ;) Good job though! Maybe next time you'll have more time! (No hair cuts!)

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:04am

Good work

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

Boss got stuck at the entrance so i just gunned him down lol glad you had fun with this it showed :)

Brick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

This was an alright game. It would have been nice if the screen was bigger.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:14pm

It's sort of cool that you can't really see what's around you too well since it's zoomed in, but it also makes the game really hard to play. Maybe in the future try to black out everything apart from what's in a small circle around the player and zoom it out a bit.

tuxxilla says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:28pm

I don't think that you did not finish this game. I played it, killed mobs, killed a final boss... that's fine with me.

I think you finished a lot in the given timespan :)

DarknessFades says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Hah :D It was great, concept was avarge, but humor was just great :D Amazing work :)

abayb says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:36pm

That was fun! Needs polish though.

May 7, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Didn't seem like I could die. Could be related to the little swim I had in the lava.

Decent start; all I can say is that depending on how you build later levels, enemies might have a bit too much HP.

Good work

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:14am

Fun!, that spider boss was tough to kill

littleball says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Good work, keep it up!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Good work. Shame that there is no sound (but I must be to exigent on this ^^).

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Even though you didn't finish as much as you wanted in time, but there is quite a bit you do have implemented and this a good core to build from. Nicely done!

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:02pm

The game got stuck after I killed the spider. Nice tutorials. This has some cool potential. Keep at it! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]