Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Can You Dig It?

by otato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My submission is a game called "Can You Dig it?". It is an action puzzle game requiring quick reflexes and some fast thinking to stay alive and progress into further and further into more difficult stages.

This one went better than my previous entry in my opinion. Only had one major regret, which was that I was unable to implement a "surface progress bar" showing how many levels down you had gone from the surface. Might be something to make it into the post-compo version :)

Anyways, I hope you enjoy my game!

@otatopotato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#170Humor3.23
#193Audio3.41
#269Fun3.39
#289Overall3.46
#356Mood3.21
#399Theme3.44
#520Graphics3.22
#657Innovation2.92

Comments

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Cool game! It was pretty fun, I lost track of time for about 5 minutes!

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

I was having such a happy ore-harvesting fest until I ran into a cute lil' blob and violently exploded into a flamey death... In short, I love it! Really fun little game, great work! :D

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

I loved the guy's face in the corner! Fun game!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am

I liked the graphics, they really fit the game. I could play this probably for hours, great time waster. Lots of fun, great job! :)

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice work! I was so close to clearing out all the gold! Those red slimes are devious when they team up...

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

aah! those little red dudes are scary! Nice job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Pretty good game, really liked the music!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Yes! I can dig it!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Not bad, not bad at all.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

The Linux version is working fine on my machine! :)
The game was fun, I really like the fast paced gameplay.
I was confused by the bar at the top - what's when the drill is full??
The graphics are good as well as the music.

All in all a fun small game I really enjoyed playing :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Very nice!, I like the front page and the game seems polished/ fun :D( i blew up :D )

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

A very well made game. Congratulations.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

Great game, Fun to dig and the bomb is the best thing ever. would love to see a post compo version for sure.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice, but perhaps too difficult

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

Fun little game! I especially liked the HUD graphics. Didn't realize the blobs were evil at first - they look too cute!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice game, but the GUI goes over the field.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Sokoban with bomberman mix :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

That was a lot of fun! Nice job!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

Interesting. I like the artwork, but the controls feel clunky. Regardless, a solid entry! Great job!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I know this is going to sound weird, but my favorite part was the UI! The gameplay was good and overall a polished fun little game.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:08pm

The bombs are too cute to be bombs, didn't expect to blow up when I hit one. Good game!

Muciojad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Enemy character is so cute :D Controls are a little heavy-working but although your entry is nice, I spent my time quite good with it.

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Pretty fun. The UI was pretty amusing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]