Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The fight beneath the surface

by Caridorc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're underground and someone asks your help... What will you do?

--Play with your speakers turned on--

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#230Humor3.04
#497Audio2.87
#1150Innovation2.16
#1172Fun2.13
#1186Mood1.88
#1231Theme1.86
#1247Overall2.08
#1259Graphics1.45

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Link not works

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

I am sorry, this is weird, i have tried it and it works perfectly. Perhaps you have a slow internet connection, this game works best with a fast internet connection. Here I am pasting the link another time, see if this works http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/the-fight-beneath-the-surface/25657/

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

The voice acting was so terrible that it was hilarious. Like how you can hear your chair moving, or clicking the record button. Would've liked a bit more gameplay.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

@Sheepolution: Thank you for commenting! I know that the voice acting is not professional but, if it is hilarious, this is GOOD. The gameplay is small because I made this game in only one day (in day 2 I was busy and I only fixed a bug).

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Hmmm looks like a nice idea, unfortunately I didn't really know what I did correct and what not and when I came to that guy with the elves, the sound just played over and over again and I couldn't do anything ..

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

Really awesome, EPIC voice acting. One of the funniest games I've played! :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

I like the idea of the voice :)

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I love the voice acting. Very over the top. The first thing I thought of was Bela Lugosi, and it made me smile.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

@hanoth: You are right! I watched a video on Youtube about Dracula and I nearly died laughing, this is the same way I speak to my dog!

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

This is like the Stanley Parable but better.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

This was more of an experience than a game for. I loved the voice acting, it was hilarious. As far as the game-play though, it wasn't too interesting. Still, this was the funniest game I've played so far and highly enjoyable to sit and listen to. Great work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

lol, sort of confusing, but the voice acting is pretty funny :)

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

VOICE ACTING! Yeah! I wish there was more to the game play though.

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

Hey, congrats for releasing this game very early, if I'm not mistaken.

I ABSOLUTELLY LOVED the narration!
(even though it took quite a time to load the game here)

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

What did I just played? I could not stop laughing because of the voice over. The best in humor for me.

jsmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Funny with the voiceover! Good work! :)

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:54pm

That evil one can't trick me! Good job on your entry, the voice acting was a good idea. It gave more depth to your game.

miwuc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:28pm

This is the first game I see with voice acting, great idea! Hearing you clicking and turning pages was so cute :p
It was a bit hard to understand sometimes with your accent and since I'm not a native speaker either. Subtitles would have been nice. And also I though it was... way... too... slow, with a lot of repeated/useless dialogue. You could cut a lot of it.
I was a bit disappointed that there weren't more plot twists in the story. I started by going right because it was sooo obvious that I was actually supposed to go left that I thought it must be a double bluff. I guess I was overthinking it!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Very entertaining entry. I like the story and the voice acting. It's interesting to see how much a game can be improved with narration. In the beginning it seemed really short, but it takes a few minutes to try the different possibilities. So I would like to see a much longer version with more to do.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48pm

that laugh lol! nice man.

SK16Games says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:42pm

HAHAHA really love the voice acting xD gave it 5 stars for humor and audio :D - and also thanks for the nice review of my game, I also shared it in a post ;) http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/02/ld29-sk16games-mygamepost/

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:30am

I had a good time with this. The voice acting was pretty goofy, but it came off in a fun way, and gave this a lot of character. The controls were clean, and the graphics were simple, but consistent.

GertJohnny says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:51am

Nice touch with the voice acting.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Certainly a unique experience and the funniest game I've played so far.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:43am

I think I won, not sure how, but that blue fella seemed grateful :P That voice...

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:04am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

May 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Interesting game! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

TobiasW says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:32am

That voice acting. I am not sure what to say. It's terrible, but extremely funny at the same time. Some parts sound like you made them up while you're drunken :P

The only problem that I had with it is that sometimes you were rambling on a *bit* too long.

PS: I'm content with my role in fire and destruction and war.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:04am

I'm sorry I have to be this guy, but I played your game and listened to every line of dialogue (both paths) and experienced all the bugs, and it's simply not a good game. I don't like being negative but if anything I think it's worse for people to cheer you on ironically than to just tell you the truth.

I'm not saying you should feel terrible or give up, just that this entry showed a genuine lack of effort and celebrating it as some people here are is to insult games in which people applied themselves and cared about what they were making.

Again, it's not to make you feel bad, I just think it's kinder to you to be honest that you've got a ways to go as a game developer and whatever this was it wasn't a "good game". I'm sorry to have to be the one to tell you this, stay positive and dedicate yourself more next time and you could do well, certainly don't give up because of what I've said, just learn from this experience and move forward.

Snoother says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I'm sorry to also be negative, but the game hasn't got a lot going for it. The opening narrative is way too long and the voiceacting is just painfully awkward. Bugs are plentiful and the gameplay needs lots of embellishing. The gameplay is also completely unrelated to the narrative (why am I essentially laying dodgeball?), and it gets boring fast.

I know I've said nothing really positive, and apologies if that's disheartening to read. But I don't think this was an entry with loads of effort, so it probably isn't representative of you as a game designer.

You managed to make a game in 48 hours, and it can just about be played all the way through, so please don't give up. It's just there's so much to improve upon -- and if you're aware of what that is it's much more likely that your next entry will be better, I think. As the last guy said, "just learn from this experience and move forward."

Snoother says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Oh, I meant *playing dodgeball, in case that didn't make sense.

gre says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:40pm

epic audio!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]