Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magma Surfer

by r2d2upgrade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a miner, who got in a sticky situation involving magma. You have climbed atop a slab of rock and you must surf your way to freedom!

Spoiler Alert!
It's an infinite running game. So, no freedom. Just get as far as you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#192Graphics3.80
#220Humor3.07
#224Fun3.46
#308Overall3.44
#459Theme3.37
#530Mood3.00
#572Audio2.75
#1153Innovation2.15

Comments

Guennor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:36am

The "web" link directed me to a webpage where I needed to download the game. I don't think it's a web link, then.
Anyway, good job with the graphics and sound :)

r2d2upgrade says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Fixed it :)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Got 2228.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

4471 at first try :-) Simple but fun.

It seems that the speed don't increase past 1000 points. bug ?

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I enjoyed this, but it got repetitive after a while. The graphics were beautiful.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Audio didn't get repetitive, which is great considering it's an LD!

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Highest score 2192 - escalates really fast at ~2000. Really enjoy the style, some fast paced music would really go well with this and maybe some variation in the obstacles. But really fun little title - a "Just one more time"-game!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Aww this was the best take on the theme so far!
Surf's up on lava!

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Fun game, different obstacles would be cool.

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Nice! My game is similar, though not endless. Love the art and feel!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

2220 ! OH YEAH ! The Wilhelm sound :D. Simple but efficient once again. Maybe need some variation (different levels ?). The graphism are great *o*.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nice game, the gameplay is neat also it would have benefited from more obstacles types.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Simple, and fun ! What else ?
Oh, yes, I loves the magma animation ^^

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Pretty cool but could've done with some music.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very fun little game! The death sound was hilarious!

eLLectron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33am

You did a great job with the graphics ! It's really fluid and it fits the theme well ! Too bad there's no music D:

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55am

It's fun to play

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58am

Amazing game... One of my favorites around... Not very innovative, but makes up in every single other department. Very fun... I filled up the leaderboard. The graphics are super charming. The death scream, priceless...
Overall a 5 star game.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Simple concept, but very well done. If I might suggest, give a little leniency on that hitbox.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I normally hate the Wilhelm Scream, but it's perfect here ;)

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Awesome! I would like to see a version where the rocks make different sounds depending on their x value, creating some sort of random melody.

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:14pm

This is the next flappy bird! Maybe with a little polish you could release it for mobile. Looks like I'm not the only one who made a game inside of a volcano!

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:20pm

hit boxes are a little unforgiving but it's a nice little game :) I like the graphics. wish I could see which score was mine at the end

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:16am

Who wouldn't want to surf on lava? Heh. Nice idea, although its pretty basic as far as endless "runners" (risers?) go. Its presented nicely all the same.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Nice little arcade game, good pixel art.

May 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Fun game, I like the graphics! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ARsCeJtTlas

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]