Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Angelic Hearsay

by Seppel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Angelic Hearsay is a puzzle game with a riddle. If you solve the puzzle correctly, you win! Solving the riddle is postgame content (free DLC OMG!!!!).

[CONTROLS]
Arrow Keys: Move cursor
Space Bar: Select a column to move the top tile from, then use the arrow keys to move it to a destination tile. You can also press space bar to deselect a tile after selecting it.
Alt+F4: Quit

The game ends when you're out of moves (which is conveniently when you may or may not have hit your win condition).

==========================================

I forgot about LD29 until there was only 4 hours left in the competition!

[TOOLS]
* Unity
* Photoshop
* Noteworthy Composer
* Audacity

[LOG]
5 PM: Began
6 PM: Graphics and Music Complete
6:30 PM: Imported everything and made base classes.
8:50 PM: It somehow managed to compile! Full of bugs.
9 PM: Break to watch Cosmos
10 PM: Back on the job
11 PM: Bugs fixed; learning how to export and submit to LD
12 AM: Submitted I think!

[EDIT 4.28.2014 @ 8:50 AM EST] Updated web link to a hopefully correct version. (It loaded fine for me before.)

[HINT] Green goes on the bottom of each stack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#475Innovation3.17
#734Audio2.41
#1022Humor1.67
#1118Fun2.28
#1151Theme2.21
#1182Mood1.94
#1201Graphics1.94
#1223Overall2.21
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05am

Throws an error when I try to start the windows version (something about failing to load mono), and the web link just prompts for a download.

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

errrmmm...if you make a unity game, you should upload the html which you get when you build for webbrowser. When I click you 'Web' link, all I get is a unity3d file

to the game: I don't know what to do actually :) sound was nice, bug in the top left corner when you can't see your cursor, and don't know what to do. the text doesn't seem to fit, and mathmatically, I think there are too many possible permutations to get a sentence out of the text elements

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

Just so you know, that isn't quite how the web version for Unity works.
You actually need to host it on a site. For example if you go to GameJolt or Kongregate, and upload that same file there, it should work. :)

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

Can't play the game -- the Web version starts downloading the .unity3d file and the Windows version errors out with "Failed to load Mono."

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18am

Failed to run mono on windows 7, while Web starts downloading .unity3d file.

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

In linux I get message that there is no data folder.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10am

Nic concept! but it has some bugs with sounds!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Hi... Yes I only play web-enabled entries (due to my lack of trust of virtualbox) so would echo that your export needs to also include the .html file which Unity produces, probably also need to rename it to index.html or default.html or something then point the web link at that...

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Failed to download data file

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

This is really good for 4 hours!! I'm going to keep trying to win...

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

SORRY I DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO POST A UNITY GAME CORRECTLY! XD

It loads correctly in Internet Explorer; if anyone knows how to properly post a unity game, please let me know!

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Nice for short development time, but hard to understand.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

A bit hard to understand, but I liked the sound and minimal graphics. Some more of a tutorial would really help.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Hi again.. Glad you got web going. Works fine Chrome/W7. Game itself is twisting my brain though!

elefantopia says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:31am

Not quite clear how to play this game. How does the first screen (the woman, the demon, etc) tie in with the game? A bit confused.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]