Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Beneath

by ndebruyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a mine worker trapped in a mine and need to get out another way. You have a torch as your only source of light.
Collect oil for your torch in these long lost caves.

Watch out for DARK CREATURES moving around in these caves and hurry up, if your light goes out you DIE!!!

Enjoy!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#375Graphics3.44
#465Theme3.36
#656Audio2.58
#665Mood2.88
#681Overall3.06
#699Humor2.24
#749Fun2.80
#984Innovation2.48

Comments

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice game. Good atmosphere.
Collision is a bit dodgy though. Took a while to figure out the double jump as I kept sticking to the walls.

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

That was a lot of fun! I loved the graphics in this game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Your jumping mechanic is really weird - the double jump seems to go higher if you tap quickly rather than tapping at the peak of the first jump. Made Level 2 difficult at first!

That aside, I love your mechanics and I love how the light dims as the oil goes down. Your graphics are great too!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I couldn't get past the first staircase! The collisions seemed weird. Loved the dynamic DLL loading, wish I'd done that myself! I shall inspect your source.

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

The graphics look slightly childrish for me, but the game is good and playable. Also the jumping mechanics are interesting.

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

The graphics look slightly childrish for me (but not bad at all), but the game is good and playable. Also the jumping mechanics are interesting.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Hehe, curious jumping mechanic! (mid air jump) Really nice polished feel to this, well done. :)

AdamCClifton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40am

I liked the light mechanic, tho the weird collision made things difficult.

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35am

(Not entering this LD so can't vote :( )

I was struck by the use of 3D drawing for a 2D game with a nice light!

I tried to do something similar a long time ago for a mini and I think the approach under-explored, so it was fun to watch the video you just posted on the main page! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/minild-31/?action=preview&uid=10313

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Cool! Liked it!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This game was very good. I especially like your level design and it's very misleading, when in fact once you've died a couple of times on the level you face palm at how easy it actually is to get trough. Graphics are perfect, and the audio creates the right mood, but is very repetitive and after a while feels like a drill. It's one of the few games I've played that has so many levels, good luck.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Oh wow, thank you all for the great feedback.
I did not spend too much time on my character jumping mechanics but will definitely fix it when I take this game further. Thank you all.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:42am

Nice game. The graphics were well done! :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

I liked the feeling of a challenge as my oil ran out, nice!

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I liked the water effect. It really added a feeling of depth to the level.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Didn't run on OSX :(

ndebruyn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:51am

O no, sorry for that. Unfortunately I can't test it on OSX.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Did like the graphics. Some kind of save-points would have been nice...but all in all a very good result. Since I'm an old jme2-'vet' I do like to see jme3 is so good in shape. Very good job!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:04pm

like it!

Hamsternator says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Simple but effective plattformer. Great idea to let the lamp act as a timer and visual aid. I am impressed =)

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:22am

A neat idea, but for some reason the frame rate was super low for me and made me feel nauseous so I had to stop playing it. For reference I was running the Windows version on XP 64-bit.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:15am

The lighting effects were really effective, and I loved how the torch gets darker as you run out of fuel. Once I figured I could double jump, the game got a lot less frustrating :) I do feel like the sticky walls could use some work though, I kept trying to wall jump with no success. Otherwise, I had a lot of fun navigating the levels and liked the false paths to waste time on.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Made it to level 3 or so. Got stuck in the floor. The jump mechanic seemed really strange. Like, I could just keep jumping up as much as I wanted. I liked the graphics. The music was a little grating with that short repeating loop. Made it tough to want to keep playing.

Delca says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I saw some interesting thing with the light, like how I walked through a passage to get some oil, and the 100% light revealed a way up in the ceiling. I love little tricks like these.
The music was a bit repetitive, but that is the only downside for me. Great game!

ndebruyn says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:06am

Thank you all for the good feedback so far.
Obviously I can fine tune the game more and I just might take this game further in the future.

whendricso says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:55am

Crash on start - no error.

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:36am

Nice idea, I like the way the game becomes darker and darker instead of just having a timer. Maybe it would be better if you've set the vertical speed of a character to a fixed jumping speed instead of just adding some value to current vertical speed. That would make double jumping more constant, easier to use and harder to abuse. For example, right now you can easily jump 3 blocks high by pressing jump button twice very fast. Quite fun overall, nice job!

davidB says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:08am

I had some trouble with the jump and the physics.
Good work. I'll take a look at your source (I'm learning jmonkeyengine)

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Great game.
Cool concept and I really enjoyed the 2.5D visuals!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]