Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Cyclope Miner on Mars

by SK16Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an Alien Cyclope Miner on Mars...

It's some kind of Minecraft/Terraria/Starbound etc. inspired game, about mining, building and just getting resources.

--- Controls: ---

Use 'WASD' to move, and 'Space' to jump.
Switch between tools with the mousewheel.
Drill: Click and hold to mine.
Dirt Gun: Click to shoot DIRT!! (What an epic weapon, huh?)


My plan was to make some simple enemies, and so that you could make weapons from gold and silver... but I kind of ran out of time... :/ I used a lot of time on learning new stuff to do in games (infinite terrain, automatic tile system etc.) which I probably should have used the warmup-weekend to learn... But I still think the final result turnt out to be really cool.

So see how much gold you can get, how big a (dirt)house you can build, how long you can explore the generated map before your computer crash, and just have fun and enjoy :D

--- Tools used: ---

- Game Maker: Studio
- Photoshop
- GoTile
- sfxr
- good mood

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#431Humor2.61
#575Theme3.24
#639Mood2.90
#639Graphics3.03
#704Audio2.48
#709Fun2.85
#717Overall3.00
#1092Innovation2.26

Comments

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Funny game i like it 23/40

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40am

Nice job! It was done pretty well!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Map seems infinite but game is running slower and slower as you explore. with more work you'd have more objectives so I think you should continue developing this game. Graphics are great.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I really like the art! Sound wasn't too shabby either. Cool little Minecrafty game. Recommendation: let the player use 'W' to jump in addition to Space, and give some other way to switch tools other than the scroll wheel (maybe the number keys) for those of us on laptops. :)

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for the nice comments, glad you liked my graphics :D I will actually continue developing on this (planning to add some enemies and tools/weapons to make of the ores) and yea, thanks for the controls advice ;)

callidus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:33pm

nice game though I confused it and had the gun and drill at once :-/ fun little mining game :-)

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

I echo having missions. You have all the pieces for a nice little game!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:03am

Nice Idea. Loved the sound effect when you get gold or silver.

Marjie62 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35am

Very polished. Lovely art, and sound effects were a nice touch. There wasn't too much there yet game-play wise. Not sure what to do with that silver and gold :)

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:10pm

A good start for something bigger. Good graphics and humour. Too bad you didn't have time to add enemies, but hey, it's a jam, we all went through there at some point.
Maybe there was a bug on my machine : I couldn't properly see how close or far I was aiming which made things confusing at the beginning.

tehryanx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great for 48h. Not a lot to do, but what you did have was nice and polished. I suggest developing this a little further, gimme something to do with the ores. The one bug I found was that I could use both weapons at hte same time somehow. Overall, great submission!

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Full review of your game! http://youtu.be/CakNBMFvaEk

SK16Games says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Super nice Caridorc xD

Photon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:42am

I gotta kick out of that dirt gun.

Like you may have already implied, its a little bare. It also would have been nice to see a cursor for digging. A nice base of a game though.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:45pm

If this game had upgrades or some little different other features, I could be addicted. I played for about 20minutes maybe more i don't remember. I love this kind of endless digging games. First i tried to dig every single block, but i realized it cannot be done :( so i continued digging :D this game is one of the best games on ld29 for me.

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:01pm

The graphics look very nice and the concept sounds quite interesting, but I'm on Linux and so can't give it a go.

Just letting you know that my game has a Windows version available if you would like to try it (you commented that you wanted to so I assume you do).

I apologise for plugging it here but there was really no other way for me to contact you.

SK16Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:36pm

@Photon nice idea with the cursor ;) @eckz Huge thanks for the nice words, cool to see someone really likes my game :D @HeroesGrave great it's for windows now, I'll check your game out ;)

TheSheep says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I guess I'm too old for sandboxes.

peterrstanley says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I like the game. It was a bit difficult without a cursor, but learned where it was as you played. I thought it was a good concept.

May 6, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Simple, fun game. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

A neat little Minecraft/Terraria clone - maybe too clony for my taste. But the game feels smooth, and it works at what it does. Good job!

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Like it

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]