Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Broken Heart

by TsFreddie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's my first LD work.
I am so excited.
But there was a lot of bug and mistaken because of the time.
And sorry for bad english. :(

UpdateFixed:
2.Fix a event in Chapter3[the tree] & fix progress problem when re-entering Chapter2. 4/29
1.Now the game can walkthrough with no crush.

Guide:
[Movement] W/A/S/D
[Jump] Space
[Interact] Mouse[LB]

Note: You should get close to an object to see event indicator. So, move your character AND your MOUSE around.

About the Theme: I was trying to think the "surface" as Human Body Shell. The story may seems wired, but also the third chapter do in the ground. [I did my best. xD]

Hint: If you find the way to interact or attack, everything is the same system.

Plugins: using NGUI, and the NGUI plugin was removed from the source gave above.

However, have fun!

-----------------------------------------------------------

Super Hint[WARNING]:

Jump to get closer to the bird, and CLICK(Attack) it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#160Mood3.58
#482Graphics3.27
#544Audio2.80
#775Overall2.95
#843Innovation2.67
#936Humor1.89
#1000Fun2.47
#1088Theme2.39

Comments

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Very moody with a neat visual style. Too much slow dialogue with broken English though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Definitely an atmospheric one. The layering music is a nice touch. I wanted to finish it but I kept getting stuck at the bird..

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

I like the visual style, but I too found the game to be a bit slow

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15am

Hi, the dialogue before getting going got in the way a bit. I only played a tiny bit of chapter one, couldn't work out how to jump on the spring... if that's what it is. I saw the guiding circle but... Sorry for not getting further. Great mood!

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

I was drawn to your game because of the cool art style--it really matched the mood that I feel that you were going for. I was getting a bit frustrated that every time something went wrong, I spawned back at the very beginning. Maybe you could think about including checkpoints along the way? The other thing I noticed what that once I jumped on the flower creature, it did not respawn. This meant that if I did not make it onto the higher platform, or if I fell back down to explore, I would have to purposely die and go back to the beginning in order for the flower to respawn so that I could bounce on it again.

Seppel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46am

I'm not sure how to get past the bird once you get the feather, sorry. :(

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

Nice, loving that classic 'indie' feel. With the mood here.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

I agree with the others, the game is a bit slow.
It's great overall~

My only problem is the first music layer. The three beeps?
Not for the ear-sensitive. It bothers me a lot.

Also, when he said come down. I came down, go right and double jumped. I endlessly fall.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

I liked the game as in, it had good atmosphere and a nice style. However, there is very little "gameplay" or challenge I feel and I found myself guessing a lot about what I was supposed to do. I liked it, still.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

I liked the game as in, it had good atmosphere and a nice style. However, there is very little "gameplay" or challenge I feel and I found myself guessing a lot about what I was supposed to do. I liked it, still.

And the music, oh the music. Loved it.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

Enjoyed how the audio introduced new elements every time you completed a puzzle and reached a new area. The part with the flower shooting fireballs out: you can't see the platform very clearly below that you need to jump on, because you are unable to see the fireball and I would land on it frustrating me. When the bird came, it shot it's fireball too quickly for me to respond and after 3 deaths I got frustrated and stopped playing.

Overall I really enjoyed the concept and this kind of project has potential.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

Very serene. Nice work.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

Good game !!! the mix between pixel art and 3D low poly it is a bit strange

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice 2.5D graphics, really cool!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

It has a nice contemplative mood, and an ambitious variety of mechanics.
Personally, I couldn't get past the bird. I also don't know I had to jump on the flower until I read it here.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Nice graphical art style. Had a very relaxed meditative feel. I liked how the music got more complex as I went on. Great job!

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

I REALLY liked this, I love how the music layers on top of itself as you progress, I tried for ages but I couldn't get past the bird, I think you've done really well with the mood and atmosphere, I really wish I could get past that bird (seriously, i want to keep playing!)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Woah, that was danger!

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Got ur message I'm up to the man now, still playing, this is great!

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

not bad :)

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I was enjoying it but the background music was a bit too much for me.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice style.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

That's a very diffrent, good approach. The music is a bit annoying after some time.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Love a story in games!

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

The art style feels nice, I like 3D mixed with 2D, but the beeps get annoying after some time the background music is nice though. Could not figure out how to beat the bird, I tried clicking him until I died too many times to continue.
Take it further, I wish to see more.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nice graphics and mood, the game is a bit slow though

Muu? says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

The music was really moody and fit the game well, except the bell which was a bit annoying.

I really loved the style but I got stuck at the bird with absolutely no idea of what I was doing and what I should be doing.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Really enjoyed the strange feeling of this game!

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Lovely mood...

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

has a great atmosphere, even with such simple graphics

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Beautiful game. Nicely done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

An atmospheric one, but too much slow dialogue for nothing. THX ++

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

very ambient and atmospheric :)

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Got lost, trying to complete the first chapter. I did like the atmosphere and sounds though.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

[The game were good.] [...] [But me died too many times for bird's ejecta.] [...] [Please make bird lives lower.]

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Very good atmosphere, nice art, good sound. And a very interesting story. Well done :)

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

Mixing the spritework with untextured 3D models was an interesting choice. I don't think I've seen a low-rez sprite animated to be "breathing" like that before.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

That bird is my worst enemy. I like the mood of your game!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

Loved the mood and style. I wish there were more checkpoints. I got frustrated and just quit because I didn't want to start from the beginning again.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Great story, this is best in "Mood"!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

The mood on this game is really good. Great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

nice entry.. i do admit i just clicked as fast as possible to bypass all the dialogue.. like the old nintendo games that aspect of 130 lines is dialogue before you can do anything kind of does my head in haha.. nice game tho :)

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I'm afraid to say I got stuck at the first puzzle (the "dead" sapling) :(

Interesting approach to graphics though, great mood!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:53am

Impressive! I love the atmosphere. I'm not fond of restarting at the beginning.

jorgemoag says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Good mood but too much slow text

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]