Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pressure

by Covenant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 'Pressure', you control a mining ship deep in the atmosphere of gas giants, trying to make a living, while fending off the natural wildlife and pirates, and braving the terrifying currents and the overwhelming pressure!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#71Audio3.73
#176Overall3.63
#213Fun3.48
#227Theme3.64
#288Graphics3.61
#295Innovation3.45
#356Mood3.21
#734Humor2.19

Comments

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I'm loving this, it feels like a solid concept and it's fun to play!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Solid entry ! I really enjoyed it :) Congrats !

ThisIsDave says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice, the controls have a nice feel to it

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

I found it impossible to leave the game in the middle of a level without terminating it with task manager, and I had it crash once on loading a level, but the game is really good and fun to play.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Good feeling on the thrusters, and the particle effects were cool. Music was good. Mechanics are the strength of this game. Very fun!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Really nice! Good graphics, nice sound. Music made me feel a bit nostalgic about AdLib soundcard on my favourite DOS games. :D

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice entry, fun to play. I really liked how responsive the controls were.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Amazing. At first I found it a little slow, but after traveling a few planets far it gets quite interesting.
+1 for assisted landing.
I feel like the ammo could be a little more powerful by default, but realy, that's all. Quite amazing for 48 hours.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Nice addicting game and quite polished.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Zupoman: To leave the game in the middle of a level, you just have to fly up to the top of the screen... You'll be taken to the "upgrade" screen, where you can exit to the main menu and leave... Another quicker route might have been prefered... :)

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Really, really nice presentation, but pretty boring gameplay. Very impressed of the amount of content you were able to squeze out though.

For some reason I couldn't close the game down. It just changed the background color of the level when I tried.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I agree, the gameplay is a bit slow tedious at first. That said, it's quite nicely made and the controls are really responsive and nice to play with. Cheers from a fellow PT developer!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Would be nice if it had an ending or a more clear indication of where the ending was.

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Really cool, I loved the effects, such as the explosions and the thrusters. Very innovative

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05am

Great entry. I really enjoyed it.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Kragnir: the game doesn't have an end, unfortunately, didn't have time to code one in... :(

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I really like the audio, a bit borring at the begining.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Seems like a well thought out design with the added bonus of it being quite fun :)
Well done!!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37am

Really good! It was good! Good graphics, good sound! :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Very nice, is so relaxing, and the gameplay is good.

I had to close the game with the task manager >_<

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

Cool controls, are the planets procedurally generated?

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40am

sudorossy: everything about the levels is procedurally generated, based on a random seed and the current level.

Sergraz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very solid, fun and polished. Lacks goal a little.

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Very solid game lacks a goal :)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice.

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:40pm

the game crashed after leaving the first planet, too bad I wish I could play more. loved the game, and the music

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Had a really great time playing this. Level 3 kicked my butt though unfortunately. Those enemies were relentless and it made it difficult to do my mining. Nice work on a solid and fun game!

bucketh3ad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:44pm

This is a really fun and surprisingly complete game, although there is one game-breaking problem. The chasing enemies followed me back to the spawn point and I died immediately twice in a row without time to even fire a shot. Prevent that sort of instant death from happening and I see a lot of replay value here, especially when experimenting with different combinations of upgrades.

Nanolotl says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:07am

Kept me playing for quite a while. I don't really see the reasoning behind making the close button/ALT F4'ing making the background change colour though

Covenant says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Nanolotl: There's no reasoning behind that... Alt-F4 should close the game, ESC should go to the main menu... :\ There's a bug somewhere... There always is... :) The background changes color because it generates a new level...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]