Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Our Feet

by NicoM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple one-level platformer set underground. I know it's a pretty lame use of the theme, but it's my first ludum dare, and I just really wanted to finish something. I'm sorry there's no sound, but I have other work that needs to be done, and music isn't my forte...

Made in Haxe + HaxeFlixel, and my own gameobject + component management system: https://github.com/NicoM1/IceEntity

Let me know what you think, I'm new to gamedev and I'd love to hear your thoughts:)

You can also follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/nico_m__

Edit: Forgot to mention that XBox Controllers are supported:), Left Stick to move, A to jump

Edit: It may not be clear, you can perform double-jumps while in midair

Edit: Currently, the windows version will not work on 32 bit windows, I'm working to fix this, currently just play the flash one (I'd try it first anyway, runs just as well on my PC)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#630Graphics3.04
#924Humor1.90
#942Fun2.56
#945Overall2.77
#997Mood2.45
#1023Theme2.55
#1068Audio1.20
#1214Innovation1.96

Comments

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36am

Not bad, Seems to kind of lag a bit when I jump but other than that its pretty fun.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51am

Thanks, I'm uploading a windows build as we speak, should have better performance:)

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nice animations, I enjoyed your game. Didn't know about the double jump until a while though.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

I was worried about that, that was the point of the floating spacebar sign, but I thought it might not be clear. Thanks:) I'm actually pretty happy with the animation for once, glad to see other people agree

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Controls were definitely too slow, I couldn't react in time to the first enemy. Good level layout though!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

Yeah, I found that as well, I'm unsure if its the controls, or the fact the enemy is hidden, maybe I should've made in air turns faster

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Very nice platformer.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Thanks:)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Very floaty, which is not necessarily bad! Solid platformer, although the first popup enemy seems VERY unfair compared to you carefully curated tutorial signs etc!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

It felt a bit floaty on the left/right controls. Difficult to dodge an enemy or spike if I got the wrong momentum. But I like the feel of the jump and the overall game. And goddammit I got to that door, haha! I think a compass or something that pointed the player at the door could help.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

The graphics are awesome! I also liked exploring the level and trying to shortcut it - was that intentional? Nice stuff. I think maybe some kinder restarts/checkpoints would've been good.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Thanks everyone:), I know the jump was floaty, I kind of like the feeling, but I definitely understand why others might not, and checkpoints were intended, just never put in:) shortcutting wasnt really intentional, but maybe it should of been, I'm actually not sure if theres many places you can, although theres lots were you actually go backwards;)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

I like the art for this game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Cool but is very hard =p, good animation!

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Thanks:), some checkpoints probably would have been a good idea;)

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Double jumping wasn't obvious, which you know, but aside from that there was a good use of signposting (literally!) to introduce elements, hazards, etc. The movement was a bit rough, but I did really like that you could arrest your momentum by reversing direction.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Thanks:), when you say rough, do you mean the in air turning? I feel like I should of at least added a little bit of drag when quickly turning in air...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice game man, wish it had some SFX or BGM though. I enjoyed exploring around.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Thanks:), I'm not very good with sound:(

jotson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18am

Not a bad little platformer. Liked the tutorial you built in to the level.

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

Whew. Some of those jumps were kinda tricky at first. Got it, eventually. I like the look of this.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25pm

The gameplay is correct, the graphics a bit low, but the overall is without doubt, very positive. I don't stop to die.. but I can't stop to play, nice entry!! I will keep playing more ;-)

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Thanks:) what would you change about the graphics?

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare, great work!

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Thank you, you as well! (well not the first time, but you get it):)

jsspiegel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Really nice art and tight controls!

NicoM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:50am

Thanks!

magicspark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:02pm

The hitxbox of the spikes is a bit too large, in my opinion the character shouldn't die when he is just on the side. Here is an example http://i.imgur.com/G4FFBwj.png I'm jumping up in contact with the wall, but as soon as I reach the spikes I will die, even without an obvious collision. Otherwise it was fun to play!

NicoM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:45am

Thanks, as for the hitboxes, I'm very new to haxeflixel, and was only using default tilemap collisions, so I also was annoyed by that, but I guess I couldve just allowed horizontal collision

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:25am

So I think you might have been better off giving yourself a little more time and just entering this into the jam. I played the game a few times and the biggest suggestion I have is for you to look into camera placement and larping. For a game where you're falling a lot, your camera is a little too high. You just can't tell where many of the platforms are going to be.

The other issue is the jump - jumping is really difficult to get right, but it's crucial since it's your game's singular mechanic. As it was, I couldn't get through the game though I tried 4-5 times.

I'm glad you were able to get it to a place you were happy with (that's the true test of the competition, I think), but I really wish you had given yourself extra time because I think with some more refining, this would've been really great.

Keep working at it and thank you for sharing. :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:13am

Cool graphics style! Took me a while to get used to the player movement, but it was fun to play.

NicoM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Thanks to both of you:) @shadow64: yeah it couldve used a lot of tweaking, but I was tired, and kinda stressed, so I figured I would be better off to just submit rather than spend hours getting frustrated trying to tweak everything....

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:46am

I really want to like this (the art style for one is fantastic), but the lack of checkpoints and inability to use arrow keys makes this a rather unforgiving game for me.

NicoM says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Well thanks for the art comments anyway:), I understand its unforgiving, maybe I should do a post compo?

Katamori says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Delay in control killed the fun for me (Win version didn't run XP)

Check my video in which I tried it if you want.

NicoM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:51am

Hmm, maybe its only 64 bit, I'll look into that, also wow...I'd not seen nearly that bad performance, in fact, on mine I don't see a difference at all, thanks for rating it though, even though I understand you were not overly impressed:/

shadow64 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:05pm

@NicoM I totally understand about being stressed out tired. The last 24 hours of my game were done straight through. I actually messed up one of my eyes and I think I got a little sick from it. In short, you did the right thing. Hahaha. I definitely think you should do a post compo. Take your time and make the game the way you wanted it. :D

NicoM says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:46am

I think I might, just to tweak some stuff and maybe make some more levels, because even though I initially hated level design, it actually got pretty fun by the end, especially once I decided to write a quick and dirty parser for tiled, allowing me to move the player and enemies without hard-coding it, and yet still use standard flixel map handling:)

foodzilla says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:11am

Not bad for a compo game! :) Controls are just... slick and clunky, mostly

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:08am

very nice anim, the character slides too much on the ground but it's just a detail. I wasn't bored to start again and again from the beginning :P

Zccc says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

The only real challenge were the controls and the views.. Would like to have completed the first level xD

NicoM says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:25am

Thanks, seems to be the general consensus on the controls;),
@Zccc there only is one level:O

May 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Super nice graphics, quite the fun game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

NicoM says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Thanks!, checked out your video, looks good:), I see now that everyone dies on the initial enemy, so that was poor design, but glad you liked it:)

lucidlarva says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:23am

The level seemed pretty well designed and since there was a double jump leaps of faith weren't too bad. I like the art style.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:46am

If you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all. The only nice thing about this game is the fluid animation. Well done on that.

NicoM says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Well thanks for that at least:)

IAmSpencer says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:02pm

The first enemy wasn't that hard for me actually, because of the tutorial signs, when I saw one with a big red X on it, I assumed I should go slowly as to not die lol, so I thought the level design wasn't bad. Liked the double jump mechanic, and the animations were nice. Overall, really good job :)

NicoM says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:46am

Thanks! Glad you liked it:)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]