Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Lava Quest

by vogon101 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bear in mind that this is my first EVER game and it was made in pure java with only LWJGL. You are a miner. You have got stuck underground in the middle of a volcanic eruption. The lava is rising and you must flee. If the jar file does not run when you double click try running it from CMD (java -jar LavaQuest.jar) and do not use runnable.jar WASD to move. Cheats: M,N,B,K Download the zip from Google drive and extract it. Then either run the .jar file OR the correct executable for your OS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#585Humor2.40
#774Theme3.00
#807Fun2.74
#922Audio1.92
#952Mood2.53
#1070Innovation2.32
#1124Overall2.52
#1148Graphics2.15
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

The coin sound was a bit too loud, it seems like when you hit a coin block multiple coins pop out, so I guess that's why. Also the jumping and graphics are a bit derpy, but other than that you did pretty good.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Thanks! :)

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Unusual jump mechanic, but I like it! Sweet game man =)

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Bright and colorfull graphics. Controls are good, player jumps surprisingly high, but that's ok. Nice game! :)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Nice game.

tompudding says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I am a not bad miner! Wooohoo. Nice take on the theme, and a pretty fun game, nice job.

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

The jumping controls feel oddly geometric to me.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Controls are a bit weird, but for a first game you did very well :-) Good job!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Mechanics are really weird, and it makes the game feel unnatural and clunky to play, but otherwise a fun game.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Not to shabby for a first timer. =)

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

very fun, a little laggy at the start for me but overall a nice submisison!

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I enjoyed the platforming and the pressure from the rising lava. Some more sound feedback would be good. Look forward to your next entry.

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

For your first ever game, and made in 48 hours, this is pretty impressive. Keep making games! :D

anvoz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The jumping mechanic was a bit strange but I had fun playing this game. Great job on your first game.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:47am

Good ideas, graphics, etc, working fine, just the game mechanics could be better.

Gaspard_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:01pm

That jump is the one I implemented in my very first platformer 2 years ago! Feels pretty nostalgic...
Nice game.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:53am

It didn't do anything when I tried to run it on OSX. I didn't even get a crash error.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Ok, to a first game it is good, but I didnt like de mechanics, graphics and songs, but nice job, and good luck.

KeyMaster says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Pretty nice game for your first game ever! The jumping mechanic needs improvement, but otherwise a good entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]