Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cookie

by sink_t - Jam Entry

A game where you play as a bunker-busting bomb. Made in about 4 hours as a last-ditch effort to produce something this LD, since I had been busy during the weekend. Very buggy and altogether a short and brutish experience.

This LD has turned out to be mostly a failure, so I won't blame you for giving me 1 star on every category.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#610Theme(Jam)2.61
#633Humor(Jam)1.72
#682Audio(Jam)1.28
#702Innovation(Jam)2.19
#733Mood(Jam)1.64
#750Graphics(Jam)1.94
#754Fun(Jam)1.83
#763Overall(Jam)1.90

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Good attempt for only 4 hours! Couldn't figure out how the score is calculated though. Very much appreciate you listing all the controls for the game. Would be nice to see what you can do if you had 48 hours :)

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

Not exactly sure how the score is calculated, but I like the mechanics. I could see this growing into some kind of level-based "bloons" kind of game where you have X amount of bombs and you need to destroy X percent of all the bases to move onto the next level. I'd like to see that :)

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50am

apparently did not understand the game and does need major tweaking and can get boring quickly. needs features!

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29am

Not bad for four hours but yeah, pretty basic. Needs to be a bit clearer about how the score is calculated (is it just how much "bunker" you hit vs. dirt?).

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

In the current (submitted on time) version the score is supposed to be the number of bunker tiles in a 5x5 square around the detonation point. In practice, this is done with a piece of magical voodoo potato, whose precise workings haven't been deciphered yet.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

I don't understand how the score works, and a BOOOOM
would have helped. Playing as The Bomb is original tho, I like that.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

For 4 hours it's not bad, shame you didn't have more time

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I love to see this finished some day, good work for only 4 hours!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37pm

This game is buggy and don't run well on my Chrome. Also, don't really get the point of this game except to bomb up the white tiles...

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:22am

I have no idea what the score is in relation to, but it's pretty interesting.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The game is a bit too simple for my tastes, but I understand the time limits you had. It's actually sort of an interesting idea, and I could see it being a cool mechanic in a larger mining-related game.

wicht says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:25am

Ok result for 4 hours. Looking forward for an entry where you're able to invest the full 48h

iSamurai says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The first few tries were fun, trying to detonate at the best spot. The game would be more fun if more content can be added in. But nice job for 4 hours work :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]