Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Sunken Base

by Emmanuel Ramos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I started late(today), so no music is added yet!. In this project you are trapped in a sunken base, you have to reach floor 10 through random generated mazes while the water level grows!

Updated.
Bug Fixes: O2 now empties a lot slower!, you can replay after death.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Graphics3.82
#299Theme3.56
#425Overall3.31
#638Innovation2.94
#798Fun2.75
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Interesting concept. The flashlight effect could use some more work. Right now it feels more of an annoyance than something helpful. (In that it constricts your screen despite the fact that the surroundings don't "feel" dark)

Fun to play though, nice graphics.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I like the idea of the game its kind of unique but when I started playing it I was not sure what I was suppose to be doing because as the water was rising I did not find any stairs. Also I wish that the flashlight would be more properly placed and had a light cookie to make the light look like a flashlight.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Love the visual style! Got hopelessly lost though, couldn't find any stairs or a way to change levels. That water is incredibly intimidating though, great atmosphere.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Only got to level 7. I was kinda bored until the water really got high, then I switched into panic mode XD For those who don't know, there are no stairs. Look for the glowing green circles.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Spooky exploration-thing!

I like the flashlight. The movement and look speed could probably be tweaked a bit, it's quite fast right now.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Really like the graphics. It took me a second to realize I had a flashlight. I thought it was some sorta of periscope at first. Great job though. The water really keeps you on edge.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Yeah the game need a lot of changes haha, i started it 11 hours before the compo end, also the maps are extremely repetitive, there are only a couple of rooms, I need also to add an stressing music. Thanks to everyone!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice graphics - fun to play ++

May 2, 2014 @ 12:45pm

I made recently a new version with a more rooms and some bugfixes, do anyone knows if i can update the project? will that be considered cheating?

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Unity web player is not available for Linux OS, so no test from me.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]