Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gold Rush

by GiveMeAllYourCats - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gold Rush!



Glad to announce my first LD entry ever, also I suck at drawing and drawed everything MYSELF. It's platformer in haxe code with the haxeflixel framework, TILED as map editor, FL Studio for music, sfxr for SFX and aseprite for sprityspritesprites!

Game Desc:
"Beneath the surface exists a man's life named BOB. His job? Find gold and evade other pesky gold diggers. THIS IS GOLD RUSH!"


DO NOT RATE THIS VERSION BASED ON THE NEWGROUNDS RELEASE! that is a after compo version, you can play it but do not give me a rating here based on that version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#362Humor2.74
#613Audio2.66
#856Fun2.67
#889Theme2.84
#899Mood2.60
#999Overall2.71
#1042Graphics2.41
#1119Innovation2.22

Comments

kunzbe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

These cops are badass as hell. :) Took me 4 tries to get beneath the surface. Cool music though mismatching to the graphical sttyle

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

I always get my asskicked by a cop. :)

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Graphics style was different throughout however found the game fun just wanted to kick that first cops ass so bad kept killing me.

atterday says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Well made, was a bit hard to punch the guys. I very much enjoyed the sounds also :-)

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Congrats on your first LD! It was my first too :D really enjoyed your game

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Some of the enemy placement is a little cruel, but overall the level layout was quite good (if a little challenging). Was nice to see some variety in the level obstacles as well, like the trampolines and the levers.

Might be nice to have the controls listed on the game's page so they show all the time. Took me a while memorize which buttons did which :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Thanks for the feedback so far guys. You are all too kind! This deff wont be my last LD

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Dang, those other miners are OP! The art's a bit rough and the game ran really slow for me, but other than that good job!

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

It's very hard to control, but I managed to beat up a few sheriffs and get a decent amount of gold :) awesome music!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

kinda wish there wasn't fall damage, but otherwise, it was a pretty fun game. Good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

You can cancel fall damage by double jumping ;)

dcolgan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This is an amazing first ever LD entry! A little frustrating in parts, and the collision and movement could be smoothed out, but there is a lot here that was done in 48 hours. Good luck in your future LD ventures.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Congratulations with your first entry!

NicoM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:31am

Nice first entry:), pretty fun, maybe a little less screenshake? but great job!:)

ricklesauceur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54am

I am here for flixel :p

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I played with the keyboard with WASD and I accidentally pushed CTRL+W when I tried to jump and punch and then the browser window was gone :(. Fortunately you also support arrow keys.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Pretty nice for your first entry! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

May 3, 2014 @ 2:16am

@Jupiter Too bad it lagged for you, did you try windows version?

MarsBar says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:27am

I'm a huge fan of platformers, and this one is definitely fun. It was pretty challenging which I enjoy. Good entry :)

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:45am

Awesome platformer theme.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:34am

This is, quite probably one of the most awful glitchiest platformers I've ever played. Great atmospheric sound though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]