Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Evolve

by Overkill - Jam Entry

Your ship has crash landed and is now at the bottom of the ocean. You must descend beneath the surface to retrieve it, but you will need to collect the scattered energy orbs to be able to deal with the dangers ahead.

Collect 3 orbs to evolve your character to each new level.

Movement: Arrow keys
Shockwave (once available): Spacebar

Created by Angie Pytlewski, Ryan Klak, Dave MacLean, Dave Tran and Tamas Szathmary for Ludum Dare in three days.

NOTE: If you encounter graphical glitches in the WEB version, please try the Windows EXE instead.

UPDATE (2014/05/02): Fixed difficulty tuning to make game beatable, enabled full screen mode.




If you are having trouble with the difficulty, check out this You Tube video showing a complete play through in less than 2 minutes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zcYwJm6-zhc


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.75
#25Mood(Jam)4.19
#40Overall(Jam)3.90
#55Theme(Jam)3.86
#111Audio(Jam)3.70
#187Fun(Jam)3.31
#338Innovation(Jam)3.08
#556Humor(Jam)2.11

Comments

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58pm

The game looks rather promising but I only have 1 to 2 FPS when running it in browser. My computer has enough power to play most of the modern titles on high, though.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Gorgeous entry. Liked the use of the evolving mechanic as well. :)

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

Seems like the website is down at the moment, a shame! this looked promising

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

Hi! I'm not being able to access the links...

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

Gorgeous graphics, moody music. However, I got frustrated after a while. The problem I had was that you have so much momentum that whenever I thought I was making progress, I'd fling myself into an enemy that was just offscreen before I had more time to react. Aquaria is one of my favorite games ever and this looks great, just wish I could finish it.

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

Gorgeous game! Controlled smoothly as well. I'd love to see it as a full title.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

Beautiful! Really well polished. I had a lot of fun playing it too. My only complaint is that death was sudden and it was frustrating to start completely over. But you're not expected to have save files for something like this :)

tchem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very interesting proposes,,, the graphics and atmospher are awesome,,, nice work all.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

This game is beautiful. I really like some of the touches that went into the effects, like the water surface ripples. It's also extremely unforgiving, even after you're able to defend yourself.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46am

Killer graphics. Web version didn't work for me either, I was disappointed until I saw the note.

delfino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

Web version worked fine for me (Chrome, Windows 7). Great games, looks beautiful, challenging but fun

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Great art, smooth controls and a good difficulty :P

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Why are there only 5 stars to give, damn.
Absolutely brilliant, love it, but it is sooo haaaaaaard :(
Thank you for this beatiful piece of art!

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

SO Beautiful that my eyes get wet ... Super Great Job

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Really good. Amazing graphics and nice game play. Died quite a few times before I reached the first evolve.. XD

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

This is really beautiful! great job! The illustrations for the levels was very very nice

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Really beautiful game! Though it is rather hard, especially those small fishes, they got me everytime

Kashaar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I got some sound stuttering in the web version, but apart from that it's pretty cool! i really dig the visuals :)

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Okay, anyone who knows me knows that I am a harsh grader, so the fact that you got three five stars (and mostly 4's for the rest) is simply outstanding. It's definitely the best entry I've played yet. The opening cinematic was impressive, especially for being 72 hours, and all of the parts work together very well. My one complaint is that I wish the player could swim just a bit faster (or enemies a bit slower) so that I could actually outrun one.

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Really hard game, and yes wonderfull graphics.

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Excellent graphics and nice ambient audio. Interesting gameplay ...and nice bubble effects!

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

The graphics are very nicely done and I really like the game concept. Having too much momentum was frustrating, I kept accidentally flinging myself into enemies when going too fast and manually modulating my speed takes a lot of effort. The music and the effects of being consumed by the darkness are pretty terrifying, despite the whimsical graphics.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Wow! amazing sound design and graphics. And it runs perfectly on linux

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

This game looks amazing, I love the art. It has nice sound and solid movement too. The only real problem with it is it's too hard because of the lack of checkpoints. Having to go back to the start everytime I get hit by one of the small fish was a real bummer.

Still, amazing effort on all other fronts, well done guys!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:14am

Fantastic graphics. Kept me playing. I was never able to finish, though. Got about 7-8 orbs and would always die. Great effort. I will return to it, to try and finish.

bazld says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:38am

Whoa, stunning looking game. Plays well too. Fantastic achievement.

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:21am

Looks outstanding and feels very polished.

TheExGenesis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:23am

I HATE THOSE BLOODY PIRAÑAS! Anyway, moody and difficult game, congrats.

giordanno92 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:25am

This game is incredible. I could really feel the sense of fear in the discovery while I was venturing deep into the dark. The controls are not so hard to master and the horrific look of the enemies made the experience much more interesting (and scarier), not to mention the music that indicates approximation of the enemies and the little details like the orb line formation and the protagonist changing color. The lights are gourgeous. Now the downgrades, maybe, there should be a localized respawn system, where we could gather three orbs and maybe save the game with three orbs. Cause the little enemies feel quite frustrated (since there are so many of them and we can't venture them at first without at least gathering six orbs). My firefox is updated but I had issues with sound, had to play it on chrome, no big time. The main character could have more frames in his animation, even though the little blur when we swim is pretty nice. Well, maybe that's it, I played the game more that 15 times, I guess, couldn't manage to finish it. But I will finish it. Solid entry. Great teamwork.

May 3, 2014 @ 10:05am

Well it was hard but I liked how the level looked made of bones. And the audio was really atmospheric. I just think it needs a better difficulty curve.

May 3, 2014 @ 10:30am

Incredibly difficult, but really good. I couldn't figure out how to go down after the first wave of the small fish, my shockwave would always just get most of them, and I'd still be caught. As others said, very unforgiving, having to spend a minute every time to get to the same point again.

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:40am

very nice game

Deity says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:15am

Great graphics and intro. Also like the idea of the game.

The difficulty is frustrating -- the character moves fast and the enemies move quickly and cover large parts of the screen so its hard not to run into them with some momentum. Difficulty curve needs adjusting.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:16am

Lovely to see fellow construct users! This is so atmospheric and lovely! Good job! Top marks on everything :)

I felt the insta-kill was a bit harsh, but otherwise cool!

iSamurai says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:48am

I enjoy this game very much. The control feels good, the art is amazing. Nice job!

iSamurai says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:50am

One thing though, the character sprite is a bit buggy on my web browser (Chrome on Mac). There is a black background around the character.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice game. But restarting from the very beginning after death is a little bit confusing :(

May 3, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Restarting from the beginning is pretty brutal, a checkpoint after each evolution would help me a lot!

May 3, 2014 @ 3:44pm

solid game! good work (- : great art and fun game play. Looking forward to your next game

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:19pm

I rage quit after my second death, but the game was pretty. I was eaten by a bunch of tiny fish that I assumed were friendly since they didn't have a big red mouth.

Wakka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Woah that's awesome! Only had some stuttering sound sometimes.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Fantastic art here, really good sense of atmosphere. When you go down into the dark areas it gets pretty tense. It controls pretty well too, although I found it a bit hard to get very far because it all goes a bit fast to react to.

vilya says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Wow, very impressed with you've pulled off here! Tremendously polished and atmospheric.

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:54am

It's a really nice looking game!

So why did you use that awful font!?

ruerob says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:07am

This was a nice experience. I loved the graphics and the controlls are great. Nice entry, thank you for that.

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:13am

Sebastian lied - under the sea ain't as magical as he claimed it'd be! But wow, this entry has some of the best visuals I've seen in LD29.

That said, if/when you port this into a full game, may I request a checkpoint system? I love exploring the dangerous depths, but the threat of death and failure's too steep (i.e. reset to zero) for the kind of game that should encourage exploration.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really beautiful game, great style and artwork!

May 11, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Love the graphics and mood. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

joe40001 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:59am

I got to the end with all the orbs is there a different ending or something if you don't have all the orbs?

Also while the game was challenging graphically it was absolutely amazing, mood/audio were 5/5 too

Cirrial says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:45am

Great aesthetics, maddening, repetitive gameplay based entirely on memorisation. Not for me, but great effort.

May 16, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I had problems with graphics running on OSX, on Safari and Chrome

jorgemoag says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:21am

i love the graph! very moody but a little hard

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]