Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Diver

by Valandre - Jam Entry

DeepDiver - Valandre - Jam Entry

Move: Arrows or WASD
Rewind : Up arrow or W
Fullscreen: F11

----------------------

Deep Diver is our entry for the Ludum Dare #29.
Inspired by arcade classic games, we searched to have PC-engine graphic feeling with 3D graphics.

Rules:
-Collect all coins and treasures
-You can hunt sharks, fishes, jelly fishes..
-If a shark bite your tube, you lose one life.
-Jelly fishes doesn't kill you but shock you few moments.


Hope you'll enjoy.

----------------------

Development (Haxe): Bernard "Valandre" Stouls
Art, Modeling 3D, Sounds: Stephane Materinsky & Etienne "E-MAK" Makowski
Animation 3D: Stephane "Tinois" Videlo, Jonathan "Djo" Emery

Very best thanks to our bosses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
Graphics(Jam)4.81
#23Overall(Jam)4.07
#42Fun(Jam)3.80
#59Theme(Jam)3.85
#106Mood(Jam)3.73
#124Audio(Jam)3.66
#154Humor(Jam)3.19
#242Innovation(Jam)3.30

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I tried to play it, but all I get is a black screen.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Same as eugman above me: I can't play, blackscreen. Too bad because it looks fun from the screenshots

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I get the black screen.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Same as previous two commenter's - will come back to check it out later as the visuals in the screenshots look really nice and polished.

Valandre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28am

Launch crash bug have been fixed! thanks for your comments ;-)

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Great gfx!

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59am

Looks very good!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

One of the best I've played yet! Graphics are great. I love the pump animation! I didn't realize I could just mow down the sharks to start with though.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

You really nailed the arcade gameplay, top notch presentation as well. Loved it, a really cool entry!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58am

Overall just a fun game to play. Really enjoy it and my son would like this one too. Great job!

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

5 stars everywhere! I really liked this game, very arcade-ish, and I will play it in the future!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

Amazing art and animations, simple but addictive :)

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25am

very fun game and one of the best graphics I've seen in this LD!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Very good game man! Looks so so good and plays so well. Artwork looks slick, mechanics are on point. Really good game.
Only thing that bothered me was that this is like the most basic thing to come up with haha. So it's not so innovative. Other than that it's REALLY cool!

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Awesome game. Wish there was more variety in the different levels, but damn, that was awesome.

Et un petit coucou à Stéphane le Tinois d'un cyanidien!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Wow ! Such a beautiful game ! *o*. The music is a little bit repetitive but we can feel the spirit of the 90 arcade game :D (it could be a great Game&Watch :D)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Really nice! I love the art.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Great game, good graphics, catchy tune.
I liked it!

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Impressive! Very polished at all aspects, well done!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I love the combination of the 2D/3D pixel art. 5/5 Stars!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

That was awesome! Really simple and highly polished, and very enjoyable. Had some problems showing the whole thing in the browser with my screen resolution, but worked out with the browser zoom somehow. Overall, a very good entry! Protect the line, kill the fish, collect the treasure...really cool, managing all those things.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very nice ! Fancy graphics, FUnny gameplay, nice music. Good job !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I like this. it could do with some local highscores. I liked the way things that hit your pipe hurt you that was very clever. But I must ask why there's a time limit if you are connected to the surface :P . Well done anyway.

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Looks fantastic! Very polished. Gameplay is fun too. Thanks for sharing!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Fantastic. I love the graphics and music. Was a game like this ever in arcades during the 80s? Because it seems a lot like something that would have been. I mean that in a good way, of course. Really fun!

01101101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

Can't see the whole screen on my 1366x768 laptop display... I'll have to download the source and compile it myself before I can rate it ^^

01101101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Well looks like your h3d is not the h3d I can find on the web, how surprising ;) Let me know if you put out a small-screen-friendly version!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Looks great and really fun to play. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

really well polished both visually and control wise!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Gorgeous little game, fantastic artwork, although didn't fully fit on my screen (Running Chrome at 1440x900) so had to fiddle a bit to actually even see the bottom chests. Simple and easy to play, could've done with a bit more difficulty though, never seemed to be in much danger. Music got a bit annoying after a while as well.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Great game ! Congrats !

pLaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Wonderful graphics. This is the prettiest LD game I've seen so far. The gameplay with the oxygen tube and the rewind function is also really cool.

soulrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49pm

A simple concept, but it looks great with fitting music (although the loop became annoying after a while) and is fun to play. The difficulty was, in my opinion, well done (I even Game Over-ed at some point)!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Very very good looking game. overall presentation is top notch.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Great art and gameplay. My general strategy was to avoid leaving any line near the edges, so that I wouldn't get ambushed. I also prioritized going deeper over clearing an entire row, since getting the bottom rows was more difficult and I'd inevitably have retract to clear some sharks/jellies anyway.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:16pm

A really fun concept :D
The art is also very nice, I liked it :)
Good job !

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27pm

In French: Ok, alors toi t'as regardé No-Life, 101%, Les oubliés de la Playhistoire, sur la borne d'arcade Anteater.

In English: This is a straight-up copy of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UC8niyVJRg .

Last week, on a french TV channel dedicated to games and geeky things, in a recurring program about forgotten games, the topic was the arcade machine "anteater". This LD48 entry is such a close copy that saying "inspired by arcade classic games" is dishonest. It's a remake of one very precise game. That I get a hunch neither of us would have known about if it were not for that TV program.

It's a well made entry though. Nice graphics and animation, good feel overall. I just wish you were more upfront about your inspiration.

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great art, great music, great game!

snooze82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:51pm

very neat game :) i like the graphics

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09pm

This was great! Loved the mechanics and the art was superb!

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Awesome job, this feels very complete and polished. I enjoyed this a lot.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

wow! super nice (- : great work. Love the "snake" mechanic and the "boom" effect when you open a treasure box

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Now that's how you make an arcade entry! really like the mechanics and the graphics.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Good little game (:

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

80's arcade machine :D very grateful

Greg Power says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:18am

This is amazing. So many great design decisions in there. Not being able to double-back up, treasure chests killing all onscreen enemies, invincible player, sharks that cut your air supply. I thought it would be kind of dull, but it's so well thought out - I had a lot of fun!

01101101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:55am

Finally found another monitor to play it on ^^
Very polished game, graphics and controls are great. Too bad there is no sfx, music is good but get a bit annoying after a while ;)
Great entry anyway, you guys did an awesome job!

loxo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:49am

Awesome graphics, animations and a fun to play game. I wish the air bottles would appear more often to prolong the game. And the music could use some more variation. But overall your game is really great.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Not bad. Genre is not new, but well made this time =)

ethankennerly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:02am

Collecting coins and retracting the breathing tube before a shark bit it kept my attention. If you continue to develop this, when I got all of the coins and saw no fish and the air supply ran out, I felt confused.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Fun VERY POLISHED game!
Got a highscore around 14k. After gathering all the coins I just killed all the fish until my hearts ran out.
Would be nice if it had more then one level.

MaesK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Excellent art and visuals, I like how you mix 3D and 2D with style. Music is good, and the game's got some arcade feel that fits well. Nice work!

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:17am

HOLY CRAP. HOW. did you make those graphics? thay are AMAZING.

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:02pm

The picture looks sweet

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Wow, really good, the only thing for me that doesn't match is the music. For the first stage it was good, but for the next stages hearing the same track felt out of place.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Amazing game! Plenty of personality and polish. One small note, the game was a bit too tall for my monitor, I took some time to notice the last row with the two treasure chests.

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Coooool! It's Anteater underwater! Very lovely visuals, tight gameplay, and great execution of a classic game. Music is nifty, but some sound effects would really bring the arcade feel to completion. Good work!

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Interesting idea, but I don't understand where it ends... I get all the coins and get back to the surface and nothing happens! Maybe you should clarify that a little.
Plus the music is really repetitive...you might want to get a loop that doesn't last only 10 seconds. Overall, pretty good.

zanenga says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Really nice entry! The animations remind me a bit of the DS Zeldas (Phantom Hourglass and SPirit Tracks).

Waterman7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:56pm

This was just great in every aspect, I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for making it! :)

joe40001 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:29am

I scored: 14300

Very well made game, looks quite polished, good use a few sound effects and something that makes gameplay change as you got higher levels, but otherwise just about perfect little game.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Cute game, having to rewind makes things interesting. More unique level layouts would be nice, they feel a bit repetitive as it is. Nice work!

deepnight says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:26am

That was brosome! =)
The music is excellent, art is top notch and the overall polish is really good! My only concern is with the wall texture (the grey coral)... Not really at the same level as the other parts, which is sad as they constitute the game area.

The music was really heady, I'm sure Marine & me will have it stuck in mind for next few days...

GJ guys :)

kill0u says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:45am

Great! Finally been able to play it :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]