Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moon Harvest

by sharpcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Embark on a journey to harvest the planetary cores from various worlds throughout the galaxy!

Controls:
> Press 'Spacebar' to move the ship.
> Left-click to fire missiles.

NOTE: This game requires an HTML5 compliant browser!

It appears my entry is not compatible with Firefox. I apologize for the inconvenience. I only tested it in Chrome and IE, so either of those browsers should work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#449Humor2.58
#585Graphics3.13
#676Theme3.13
#719Innovation2.84
#775Overall2.95
#822Mood2.69
#828Audio2.21
#849Fun2.68

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

neat idea!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Doesn't seem to work in Chrome or Firefox. On Chrome it appears to be stuck after pressing start, and on FF pressing start doesn't do anything. I tried refreshing in both cases.

crewderek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

On game load, nothing showed up after the instructions. Kept losing credits. Don't know why. Also crashed my browser.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

There's a lot of good things going on for this entry. I did have some issues getting it to load properly, but once I started, I had a good time.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

I played once to death, but afterwards things started appearing in the lower right corner and I couldn't get through the tutorials. I tried refreshing but it didn't seem to help. Looked neat for the big I played!

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

Worked for me on Chrome, but the ship didn't seem to wrap around when going off-screen, so it was easy to lose the ship way off where you can't see it.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

@Nitrion - Wrapping the ship is a great idea, I can't believe it never occurred to me. Thanks for playing.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

Nice concept, and nice gameplay, I really enjoy playing it!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

I think I found a bug: my ship flew off the screen and I couldn't get it to come back. Good game though!

Miltage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Reminds me very much of FTL. I find the ship very hard to control, either I face plant into the planet or I drift off into the never-ending depths of space.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

@Miltage - When I envisioned the game originally, it was much less similar to FTL than one might think. But my implementation is an entirely different story... I do admit that I was inspired by their interface a little. Thanks for your feedback!

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Cool game! Love the destruction of the planets, and the small events were a nice touch... Very ambitious for an LD game but it paid off!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Pretty cool, I like how most things have physics applied to them, although actually orbiting your spaceship was a little challenging for me. Really nice entry though, good job!

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Great job! Quite a unique idea for beneath the surface. I like the story options, reminds me a bit of FTL.

Anny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Really cool game! cute graphics

Deity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

Doesn't work in Firefox (tested in Chrome and it works there).

In Firefox - it finishes loading but the "Begin" button is not clickable.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

@Deity - Thanks for the info, I have updated my description accordingly. I don't think that bug falls under the "typo" category as it's probably an intrinsic problem, so I don't plan to be fixing it for the compo. Thank you for playing though!

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

There are some similarities with FTL and the gameplay isn't very innovative, but the game works I guess.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31pm

It's a great idea, controlling the ship is really hard though.

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Hilarious flavor text on missions! The ship acceleration feels a bit touchy, but with a bit of adjustment to the handling, I see a lot of replay value here.

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:00pm

cool game and idea about the theme.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:03pm

This game has a lot of really awesome features, marred by some nightmarish controls.

someone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Didn't work in Firefox, couldnt click on the begin button. Worked in Konqueror though.
Lost the ship off the edge a few times.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Nice idea! It was a little too easy to fly offscreen and get lost.

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Didn't like the fact that the background integrated into the game window seamlessly, because it made it a lot easier to go out of bounds. Same with trying to keep the mouse cursor inside the playarea. Simple but nice graphics, somewhat simplistic gameplay. Could've used a background song. Finished on second try with a bit over 3000 score.

Damn space dolphins, in the name of the Emperor I declare Exterminatus upon your planet!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Fun game.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Pretty cool. Got caught by surprise by the planet that keeps you from orbiting around it on my first go.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:14am

Nice idea and solid implementation, but not clear what i really have to do. There are numbers next to the objects, do they have any meaning? The controls are also extremely strange. Either you bump into the planet or fly offscreen.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Fun little game. I like the references to FTL, and the space dolphins.

fermenter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Pretty good game. A little hard but definitely fun.

biscuitdough says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Was the planet map procedural? noticed it changed when I restarted a couple times. Great job all around though, good polish.

sharpcoder says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:44pm

@biscuitdough - The planet map was basically a hand-tessellated hexagonal grid which was used as a canvas upon which with multiple different planet textures were drawn to. The planets weren't necessarily the same size, which is probably why it looked different sometimes :) Also it gets "eaten" away differently based on where your missile hits.

Thanks for playing it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]