Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Final Move

by Team-KwaKwa - Jam Entry

*** Known game breaking bug:
- Clicking on the doctor after speaking to dad will trigger a infinite loop event, don't do this.***

***Version 1.0.3 : Corrected bug with mouse and fade_screen on different resolutions than 1080p***

*** Warning: Windows 8 can cause BSOD, if so modify data/json/init.json -> "fullscreen": false ***

*** Linux with GlibC version greater or equal than 2.17, check with : "ldd --version" ***

*** If you have a 64-bit version of windows try first the 64-bit version and then the 32-bit***
Final Move is a point and click where Marco, a ghost, can read the thoughts of people around him. He will try to finish his chess game against his dad. It is developped by a team of 10 people: 3 game designers, 3 artists, 1 musician, 1 VO director and recording and 2 voice actors. Enjoy!

Move: A(Z)SDW, ARROW
Left click: Interact
Right click: Read thoughts

Our website: http://team-kwakwa.com/ and a post-mortem : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/30/team-kwakwa-ludum-dare-29-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#9Audio(Jam)4.35
#36Graphics(Jam)4.46
#91Mood(Jam)3.79
#161Overall(Jam)3.54
#273Innovation(Jam)3.24
#323Theme(Jam)3.26
#325Humor(Jam)2.69
#388Fun(Jam)2.97

Comments

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

This is a great entry. The idea is good, the graphics are nice and a good voiceover! I was stuck at the chess game, because my cursor could not goto the right side of the screen. So I never could hover over the tower. Still I like this entry.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Great job, great theme manage

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

The voiceover is really great and the graphics a beautiful. Great entry!

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Same idea as my submission... except I suck at writing plot :( Don't think my submission worked with the idea of reading other people's minds as well as yours. Liked the ending as well. Great job!

KeinBaum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:59pm

For a 10 person team this is actually pretty short. It's a pretty cool idea but you could have done so much more with it.

wespaugh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Much enjoyed! Fantastic art and sound, and you've told a good story. Great as the production values in the menu were, though, I think a little more time fleshing out and extending the gameplay would have been good.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice artstyle, great voice over, good story. Awesome!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

such polished, much professional, wow

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Wow, good to see a Python game. The level design was a bit unpolished but understandable. I loved the game, the artwork and the music. Pretty good style. I would love to see a complete game using this concept.

The best rated so far for me.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Well made! I was a bit shocked at how short it was, I wanted more! :)

In all seriousness, it's gorgeous. Special mention to the sounds, especially in the opening. It was done very well.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I was expecting a lot more from this, the download is nearly 50MB after all. On that note, why is the intro made up of 448 individual images?! Oh, and the intro was just a black screen for me. The game itself was also extremely buggy, had to restart it multiple times to finish it. For instance things wouldn't react to my clicks, and I couldn't advance (the doctor just walked to dad the first time and stood there silently, while Marco kept calling me a dumbass). Marco also liked to take walks all by himself, just to stop after a few steps. All this on X64 W7.

Quite frankly did not enjoy this. The art was nice, expect for that cat which felt totally out of place. Oh, and its dialogue didn't display any c:s or z:, which is kind of important for lolcat. The only thing I remember from the audio is Marco calling me a dumbass. I'm glad he died. I hate Marco.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

I just upload a version that correct a bug with lower resolution than 1080p due to mouse position

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Wow, that's a really wonderfully crafted game.

But, you have picked the wrong opponent, I am a chess master :D

Overall, very nice game for the entry, I wish my team would be as good as yours. Although the game was a little bit too short...

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13pm

I'd really love to go through this game, but it's current state feels buggy as hell and tough to interact with. The visuals and audio are spectacular, but the gameplay is really kind of unwieldy.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Interesting game, though I didnt really understand it at first... I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:22am

The graphics and presentation are top-notch. The story is a little underdeveloped, though. The main character was kind of a jerk; at least he's aware of it, but it turned me off a bit. The mind-reading thing was all right, but it really didn't come into play much. The whole thing left me with a lot of questions, like, why is he so calm about dying? why does he bother with the chess game? And so on. What this does mean, though, is that there's room to expand the game if you like. ;)

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:00am

For the record, the Win32 build of the game runs fine under Wine 1.7.17 on OSX 64-bit :)

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Awesome graphics and style. It is a bit quick, though, and feels too unexplained. It would be nice to know why there is so much animosity between the son and father, and by doing so it would probably make the metaphor behind the chess game far more potent. But it still worked well and deserves recognition.

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Awesome!! Love the art, the presentation, the audio, the story, and the humor! I like the references to memes and GOT :P lovely! I just find it weird that he can't write, but he CAN move a piece on the chessboard? :P why is that?

Too bad it's so short :(

RyotaRaven55 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:34am

I couldn't do anything after looking at the note but that was really enjoyable I wish I could have played more!

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:11pm

It seemed enjoyable, and very well made. However, I got stuck early, as I could not click the note neither figure ot what to do on the chessboard (it seemed like some of it was off-screen, but even with modifications to screen resolution/fullscreen settings, I coud not get it to actually display the whole board).
That is why I cannot rate it, which is a pity as it seemed to be a polished game.

Moosefly says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Tried the X64 version in hopes it would work, but I still couldn't see the intro images, and after walking to his house Marco just returned to the hospital with no way out of there. And he did call me a dumbass when he was walking to his house, wanting me to do something when I had no control over him. Oh well.

Anssi@MooseflyGames, again.

Moosefly says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Oh, seems like clicking the doctor caused this known loop-bug. For some reason I didn't notice it the first time when reading trough the description.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Your voice actor sounds a *lot* like the guy who does Spike from Cowboy Bebop (in addition to about a million other cartoon voices).

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:28am

Thanks for all the comments on the voice overs. I just uploaded a "making of" to http://codypredum.com/ld29/ for anyone interested in hearing more.

-Cody

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]