Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SubDie

by raisedmedia - Jam Entry

Sub-Die

You have a sub. You will probably die. Explore the deep blue sea and collect hella treasures but watch out! You need air and running into stuff is bad for your health.

Depth matters. Treasure is worth more the deeper you go. You are also more susceptible to damage as the pressure grows at lower depths. Get multipliers on your score for less damage.

Use your keyboard arrow keys to move. Use A and Z to raise and lower your claw. The claw rocks!

Quit: Command + Q on mac. Alt + F4 on PC.

Best played at 1024 x 768 or similar ratios. Bugs exist in other ratios, we will try to fix ASAP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#86Theme(Jam)3.77
#102Audio(Jam)3.72
#128Fun(Jam)3.46
#200Graphics(Jam)3.83
#202Overall(Jam)3.46
#350Mood(Jam)3.09
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#480Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

very nicely done :)

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

I really like how the audio gets muted as you go deeper

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Ha, great sound effects, especially for the sub. Made it a lot of fun to move around.

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cool audio, seems pretty polished overall. Good job :)

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Good game. I like physics of the submarine. And nice sound effect in the deep :)

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Very cool, music, and visuals were very fun and cartoony, good stuff!

geounknown says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Like It So much !

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I really like your graphics. The vector graphics are probably the best i've seen so far. I got a small graphical glitch when I lower the claw, but other than that it was pretty good. Like the sound effects. They really add a lot to a game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Smooth controls, great audio, nice vibrant graphics. Great work!

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Man I'm bad at this game ;) I like the music very much. Cool idea with the filter on the background music.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I really liked it. The graphics and the sound were fantastic. They really gave me and under the sea vibe. Is was also really challenging, which is nice to see.

I had a few issues with collision, but beyond that it was a great little title. Nice work!

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

Looks like a well polished game with a pretty funky soundtrack. If you hold down to lower the crane when in a long shaft, the camera does some funky things :P

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

Aw, My game could have done with a claw.

bwpdsigns says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Very cool.

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Pretty cool! I got stuck in a wall at some point but apart from that it was really good

zeal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Great fun, very good job.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Really cool. I got stuck in a wall, but really nice.

Scam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Collision checking was too strict. Occasionally the submarine got stuck to the wall as well.

I liked the graphics and the filtered soundtrack.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:52am

nice game , love the music

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice graphics. The physics was a bit buggy and there doesn't seem like much to do, you can't resurface for air or anything. Also is the half pink sub icon on the top right meant to be health? Sort of looks like it but doesn't move. Maybe add an upgrade system to spend your loot.

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:56am

That's great!
It's a shame you couldn't lift up the rocks with your grabber to reveal more treasure, or just more use for the grabber all around really.

The controls took a few moment to get used to, but were great once you'd figured them out.

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Nice level of polish and fun concept.

tuxxilla says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Great graphics style and fun gameplay :)

Masadow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice work, still need some polishing with collisions and some features to get a deeper concept. Still, good job in 72 hours

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:10am

Very cool. Similar in some respects to Solar Jetman for NES. Takes me back. Only thing, I thought I should be able to surface to replenish my oxygen, not just collect oxygen tanks.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]