Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Hunter

by holgk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story of Treasure Hunter:

King Edward the Wasteful, King of the Golden Hills is bankrupt.
He comes to you the treasurer of his empire and ask for help.
Now it's your job to file his treasury, so the king can pay the salaries.

Mine gold and mint as much money as you can and save it in the treasury before the time runs out.
Have fun!

Treasure Hunter - Tutorial
- a + d or left and right for movement left and right
- w or space or up for jumping
- use mouse movement to select a tile and press mouse button left (and hold it) for digging tiles
hint: you do not have to wait until a pick axe is finished you can mine without a pick axe but slower
hint2: the character has a with of 2 tiles and a height of 3 tiles

If you are playing the web version and you are using a add blocker it might be possible, that the block blocks the highscore table.
If you find bugs please report them. Thank you!

Treasure Hunter is made with:
- Unity
- Photoshop
- Gimp
- Cinema4d
- Audacity

P.S.:
I had to rebuild the game. v1.0 had a bug that created a problem with the web player and there was typo.

P.S. 2:
I uploaded a post LD version of my game. I highly recommend to try this version, because I think it's more balanced than the original one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#649Theme3.16
#841Graphics2.71
#936Humor1.89
#936Audio1.87
#1016Overall2.69
#1040Fun2.41
#1064Mood2.35
#1123Innovation2.21

Comments

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

You know, I feel I've played this exact game before somewhere... This is very well executed and you've managed to implement a lot of systems in 48h.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Cool little game! I like the simplicity of the menus (the stuff on top) and the ability to create your own world size. :)

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I applaud you for being able to do all this in 48 hours.

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

The game works well with a lot of things in it. I didnt reach the end, there it seemed there was a lot of content.

Also, It seems like the world was always the same size whatever which size I chose.

Good job on making this entry !

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Very impressive! Would love to have better movement/mouse control. I had to click in very specific spots to mine. And my pickaxe broke before I found any iron to build a new one. :(

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

Took a while to realize to the use the mouse.

holgk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53am

I changed the tutorial a little. Now, I hope it's clear that you select a tile with your cursor direction and with a pressed left mouse butten you can dig.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

Nice graphics, but I'm afraid my little character got stuck floating above a pile of something and couldn't move after that. :( I was in the web player.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51am

So much content for 48hours! Well done.
Maybe controls need a bit more polishing but that's really good entry!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Great game! It got me occupied for some time. :)

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

cute little game. lots to mine. impressive for the time limit.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice game, I liked the concept. I found it a bit tedious that it took so much time to mine a tile. It would be nice if you could upgrade your pick axe to increase the mining speed- But I know the 48 hours constraints adds some limits- You spent your time well with the stuff already there! Nice job.

Team Castor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Funny game !

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Good game !
Little lag, but do a great work !

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Mining is a bit slow and it feels really weird that you have to mine away the grass. There are a lot of good things in the game but the balance of the player size and such needs too be looked at. Seems like I got stuck in walls all the time and had to mine my way out.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

nice entry.. alot in for 48hrs.. good job :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

fun and impressed you got this done in 48 hours. Nice job :)

Ron74_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20am

I seem to be able to fly when holding down space.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Hi. Nice idea. Strange bug that you can fall down a single block wide hole in grass, but then be unable to fall further however big the whole underneath gets...

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Diggy! Diggy! HOLE!

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:39am

awesome art and mechanics!, reminds me of an automaton terraria-minecraft spinoff =)

May 1, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Good game, I enjoyed it.

MidCry says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Interesting Idea ... but it's hard to navigate through mined blocks , due to bugs maybe ...

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Reminds me Terraria. Thats good. ;)

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:05pm

This game fells like there are too many bugs, it looks good but ' haven't been able to play a lot.

holgk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Hi Caridorc! I saw in your video how you played my game and I recognised that you didn't read the help. Under hint2 I explain that the character has a with of 2 tiles and a height of 3 tiles. The bug that the head can stick overground is fix in the post LD version.

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice work on this you did well to make something like this within the time constraints, had fun playing it too.

Tuism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:22am

It's a minimal Terraria with buggy movements and unclear interactions... Well done for implementing all the stuff, but some of the choices in implementation makes the game feel quite boring...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]