Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Search Beneath the Surface

by halfmage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You crashed your Ship on a planet, but lost important tools for your ship in a very deep lake.
Search for all the missing modules to fly back home .. hopefully.

Controls:
Movement: W, A and D or Arrow Keys
Space or Left-Mouse-Click for shooting

Mini Bugfix Update #1 - 04/30/14
- removed Web-GL effects (not working in all browsers)
- fixed arrow key movement under water
- added two new screenshots

Have Fun and thanks for rating or comment :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#101Graphics4.00
#220Theme3.65
#240Overall3.53
#322Fun3.31
#400Humor2.67
#468Mood3.08
#728Audio2.43
#855Innovation2.66

Comments

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06am

nice game, I liked the tightness of the platforming mechanics and gun shooting. Going deeper and deeper trying to find a module while my air was running out was giving me sonic water level flashbacks.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Wow, great visuals! Really nice use of colors too! Gameplay seems nice, but I can't figure out how to get back up when you're in the water. I can't swim or anything? If it's a bug, it's a game-breaking one :( Or maybe I'm just stupid.

Either way, great job!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

Scary trying not to drown!

Managed to complete it, was cool exploring the bottom of the lake.

P.S. Arrow key for swimming up didn't work, but WASD did.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Great art, coulda used some fish or something for enemies, but other than that it was stressful trying not to drown, good job!

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Really nice!

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56am

Really amazing graphics, I could see this as a really fun cave-story like game with some more work.

Enemies/more mechanics would have obviously made it better, but hope you keep working on it!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice and simple game! The sound effects fit, and the camera follows nicely. The art is in a nice style, and trying get up before you run out of oxygen gives a nice mood.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

As usual, gorgeous artwork! I liked the idea-- neat and simple, while being fun and a challenge at the same time. Particularly enjoyed the spacecraft's various states of disrepair.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

The way the spaceship was digging its repairs I really liked!

The controls were OK, but the jump felt a little stressed (too much gravity or something). Else, I would really have liked air-pockets, some enemies and maybe some transmitter on the modules (as simple as ping-frequency showing distance but not direction).

Nice entry though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Really awesome game! Had a great feel to it.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Amazing little game! Really polished, amazing graphics and really nice controls! The only con is that "cursor up" won't let you swim up under water. I was about to stop trying until I saw Eldog's comment... (Use ASDW, guys!)

Thanks for making this little gem!

Turnipnose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice plattformer, I really liked the clean artstyle. Sadly I couldn't see any effect of the "deep water" some kind of screen darkening would have been nice. The classic drowning panic kicked in some times. the controls glitched sometimes (especially at slopes and the water surface", but not too badly.

really liked the "after credits scene"

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Couldn't really understand what to do ... can't see anything when under water, is this correct behaviour? Still gave good rating for graphics as it's super nice!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

Good music, theme, gameplay, challenge and a finished product. Nice job.

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23am

I enjoyed quite a lot playing this! It took me a bit to figure out how to resurface, but once I got that out of the way the rest was really fun to play! Plus your pixel art and animations are fantastic. Good work!

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I like your style a lot. I think the character's physics are a little bit annoying (the screen moves a lot, it's weird to me at least). I wish there were enemies to make it more challenging!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cute graphics and nice controls.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

I got home. Yay. A bit short of a game, but really well done.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41am

Other than some weird bug where the up arrow won't let you swim out, I had a lot of fun.

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50am

I liked the ending :). Too bad it's missing some music !

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37am

A nice idea certainly and I like the art style, but let down by the illegible font and glitchy jump/swimming.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I think the camera is following the little bud too quickly (and too closely ?). I'm getting motion sickness from playing this game. I like the art style though, the little dude and the ship flying at the hand. I made it with 5 health left, that was close ! ^^

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice game,...did like the panic in me having only a couple of secs left to come back to surface :D For some reason see font was more or less onreadable,...did I really crash in the end :D
Nice game, good work

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

cool game! managed to escape .. so i thought (- ; a nice backgroudn track would have done much for the game i think. Keep it up, good work and i had fun looking for the modules!

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The ending is hilarious :D

Kyatric says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice graphics.
I also found that the scrolling was a bit too "tight", there are ways to make the scrolling "smoother" with C2, so that it follows the character with a slighter delay which causes less "motion sickness".

I managed to find all the modules on my first attempt :D

Good job, congratulations on making a game in 48 hours and submitting it to the compo !

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:59am

Graphics are great and the gameplay was very engaging. I just had a lot of trouble with the controls - trying to mash the "w" key to swim up while also navigating left/right. If the "up" key was space or anything else, that would help.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52am

I can't get over how great the bubble particles look. It seriously looks like how real bubbles react underwater. Great job nailing that aspect of it. With a bit more work, you could have a really cool game if you can manage to get some audio that matches the tension you feel when underwater. You have a good thing started with this entry. Great job!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:50am

This was a great game! I loved how heavy the character felt--really gave a sense of an alien planet with a different sort of gravity--and the difference between traveling on the surface, and underwater. Everything was very nicely polished, and I felt some real tension trying to get back after my missions. It felt good, though, since I thought I was going to have to lose some hitpoints--and in the end I didn't take any damage whatsoever.

Also, that is one nicely-drawn damaged spaceship.

The only thing I'd change would be to add a little bit of background audio--something ambient. The lack of it was noticeable.

All in all, a great game, well-polished, and a joy to play. Thank you!

xandy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:34pm

very cool game. the concept matches the theme, the mechanics are solid and it's not too short but not too long to be played while judging games! one of the best games i'Ve seen this jam.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:38pm

I really liked the style, but there must be a problem with the fonts because the text looks different from the screenshots, almost illegible.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Fun little game! That last piece was quite hard to find! The art style is really solid only thing I didn't like quite as much was the jump/swim up feeling. Didn't feel very smooth

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Nice game! Bit scary, but fun.

jsspiegel says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Really nice, short game, with great art!

tastyoishi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great graphics, gameplay was a little frustrating :P

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:13pm

This was a cute and fun little game. The art is lovely, the sounds work. My wrist got a bit tired from having to press the w key so rapidly, so it would be worth considering if that's really what you're going for. I really liked the way you differentiated the colors of the water as you went deeper. This helped to keep you oriented without any kind of unnatural UI.

May 10, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Good job! Nice art. Short and sweet. The pieces were easy to find and logically placed. Nice little platformer for 48hrs. I would continue to work on it and add challenges for the player.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]