Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarines Vs. Airplanes

by bastos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#131Innovation3.77
#162Theme3.74
#304Audio3.16
#368Graphics3.45
#420Mood3.14
#425Overall3.31
#427Fun3.16
#617Humor2.35

Comments

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

Dragging around the subs was an interesting concept, but it felt extremely difficult to move and keep track of them all at once - I used the others as bait to protect the final one, then there was nothing I could do to prevent the onslaught of torpedoes. Cool idea!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31am

Very cool idea. I kinda wish there was a slower transition into the action to give a chance to get your bearings. It would also be nice if the four subs spawned in order. By the time I figured out which sub was which, I usually only had 2 left!

Missiles from the subs could also be a bit faster. As it is, they are too slow to aim for anything. I ended up just shooting randomly and hoping for a hit.

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

wow, can't believe no one has jumped on this. Graphics were cool and so were the sounds. The controls were a bit hard to get used to but the idea is neat. it's awesome when you get totally overwhelmed by al the planes. I think the submarine bullets could go a bit faster.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

Cool idea, very hard though. Hooray for another HaxeFlixel entry! Good job.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

Nice concept. I was wondering why my stuff was blowing up, then I realised there was stuff other than torpedoes blowing me up. That extra stuff was a little hard to notice.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49am

Very unique idea.

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49am

Those planes sure do drop a lot of bombs... Can't say I got very far in this game. That being said, I like the style, and the audio fit well.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53am

+1 for haxeflixel

Nice graphics and effects (though it does become too much once there's 10+ planes up there).

Hard to tell difference between player and enemy bombs.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45am

overall I thought it was a nice game. could do with minor tweaking but the concept was nice! did have a very intense feel to it

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Interesting but hard, nice idea and art though

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

The concept, the graphics and the sound really got me, but unfortunatly it is a little to hard. Thank you for makeing that game.

stvr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:44pm

A lot of fun! Would have been nice to be able to move submarines as a group, or use your missiles to defend against the enemy's (you can call FlxG.collide(missileGroup, missileGroup) to collide stuff with itself). It also gets impossible very quickly!

jaxonf92 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:03am

Very cool. The affects were awesome

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Really like idea. But game is hard. Submarine's weapon is very slow and planes attack very often.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:15am

Okay, wow. I see what you're going for here but it gets too difficult much too fast. Very nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]