Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Octopus Simulator

by jcreed - Jam Entry

Graphics by: Karolina Lach (@thekarolina)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#206Theme(Jam)3.49
#479Mood(Jam)2.87
#499Humor(Jam)2.25
#536Fun(Jam)2.68
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#615Innovation(Jam)2.46
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Love the controls, the scrolling camera, and the art! However, I can't figure out what to do once I get to the treasure chest :(

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

I only found one! Cute game.

riv_roy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

Loved the idea and art, but i couldn't progress? Maybe i just missed something :/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

The graphics are flawless! Way cute

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Arrr, I lubb the arrrt style, but me thinks the li'l babies be missing.

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

That was really interesting, the life of the octopus is definitely adventurous. I loved the artistic consistency and the splash when you re-enter the water.

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38am

nice graphics!

chrisamaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

adorable! really good sea-life simulator A++.

chrisamaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

flying octopus is the best part.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I could only find one little octopus, had no idea of what to do next. Also, flying octopus was awesome.

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Couldn't figure out what to do at the treasure chest, either :(

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Those are some good graphics. But what do you do at the treasure chest?

jcreed says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:46am

Hint re: treasure chest. It needs a key. The key is hidden. Clownfish are symbiotic with ___?

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:40am

this game is weird, as far as I can tell, you get the first baby by going to the chest then back to the surface & it's on the boat, then another in the seaweed, but I have no idea about the last one.

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:51am

Spam spacebar near the coral for the key.

michelfontes says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:23am

Awesome. I'm just sad I couldn't find all babies...

Blanky says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]