Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In the Lair of a Basilisk

by Korwegian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the dungeon, evade the Basilisk, find the surface, and don't look back.

Sorry about the map being kinda boring, level design is not my strong suit. Hope you think it's even remotely creepy.

Regrets:
Unity crashed in the middle of decent level build so I had to make do with the time I had.
I am still unfamiliar with pathfinding concepts so the basilisk's movement is kinda derpy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#45Mood4.00
#297Audio3.17
#474Graphics3.28
#544Overall3.19
#558Fun3.00
#649Theme3.16
#830Humor2.05
#912Innovation2.59

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

Woot, another one I saw on irc! Sounds got a bit repetitive, but the atmosphere was very nice.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

Actually made my heart race. Good game. Would be nice to see some more levels

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Holy shit that thing scared me, hahahha. Really nice mood.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

Nice turning-to-stone effect.
I think there needed to be a variety of wall elements. Everything looking the same made it very easy to get lost.
Aside from that, nice job.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

Ooh jeez, running into that face actually gave me a little jump! Nice work, great atmosphere, especially with the sound design! :)

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nanolotl, There were more textures in the sheet and I had planned for decals like blood and other shturf but there wasn't enough time. :/

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

The mood is so fitting and I found it hard to quit.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Really cool atmosphere, but I really wasn't fond of the controls. I got to the ladder and then that was it, is that all there is?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I'm showing my age, but it rather reminds me of 3D Monster Maze on the ZX81. Good atmosphere, and the basilisk is rather creepy.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice atmosphere! :)

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

DarkMeatGames: I had a bigger level but Unity crashed and I had to restart :/ The controls are retro fps inspired.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

It felt very claustrophobic (in a good way). I only saw glimpses of the basilisk, but that and the sound was enough to send me running. :)

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

Holy Bananas that thing gave me a freaking heart attack!

person124 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

That was..... freaky.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

That thing creeped me out massively! ;)

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

nice job! the face scared the shit out of me the first time. looking around a corner was scarier than it would have been with easier controls, which was fun

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

It's really tense ! I like the mood.
But giving the controls when you only reach the exit?? Bug or feature?? XD

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

@Oddly Shaped Pixels,
It's the same as the start screen, I was really pressed for time and because of a crash I had to build the level twice.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great work !
Like the mood and graphics, and this basilic sound is so cool !

But i don't understand what i'm supposed to do..
Great work by the way !

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Very nice atmosphere, the sound made the basilisk extra creepy. I guess the main complaint I got is with the control system, it's very strange. I get that you went for an oldschool Eye of the Beholder feel, but I feel this would be much better with regular WASD strafing and mouselook.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52am

Interesting game, and fun mechanics. I enjoyed it, although I didn't really understand the challenge or point of the game. I breezed through the levels pretty easily. It has a lot of potential though! Would be interesting to see some sort of restraint applied so that I would take the time to think about my actions more. Great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19am

F#$%! THAT WAS SCARY!

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

As simple as the basilisk is, he's great at being very creepy! The controls took some getting used to - would have liked the standard WASD + mouse instead.

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Haha actually made me jump the first time I played. Really liked it, it is a well made game. Wish there was just a bit more variety in it. I liked the control choice!

Balint197 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47pm

That was scary :D The game is a bit short though, the sound was cool :D

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Nice game but why did you use WQSE and not WASD to move ?

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I hate the basilisk XD It is a good start, but after completing the game for the first time I was able to directly walk to the ladder a second time. A bit randomization would have been nice (it doesn't have to be the whole level, but only some walls or doors that change could help). All in all the experience was very tense the first run ;)

vinull says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Very atmospheric game, and the sounds really set the mood. I had trouble adapting to the controls; mouse look would have been nice and a more standard WASD layout.

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Hm, I actually kinda liked the controls, felt very refreshing. Got a bit startled at first, but the basilisk didn't seem capable of following me, so the overall atmosphere was somewhat dull. Not much replayability either at the moment. Maybe you should just leave the level design to procedural generation if it really is your weak point.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

jaxonf92 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Great game. Love the atmosphere and sound design

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very creepy monster! It's funny how low-fi can freak you out more easily than HD quite often. It's a pity there's only one level, I solved in pretty quickly. I'm not a huge fan of the control scheme, I'm use to Doom's ALT+direction to strafe myself. That's just a question of taste though. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]