Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Water Beneath Mars

by Crawler Studios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gameplay video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Bgq8THLPyQ

A comet carrying ice has crashed into Mars. Its impact was so great, it made a hold beneath the red planets surface! Ice crystals were scattered across the crater. Here is the catch: some rocks did not surface, but instead hollowed out into caves and tunnels. Most ice crystals can be found in these caves and tunnels. A solar powered, laser-equipped robot, Explorer 29 has been sent to Mars, and must melt the ice crystals and collect at least 1L (1000mL) of water that is on mars for testing to see if liquid water can 'survive' on Mars. HOW TO PLAY: - W and S to move back and forth. - A and D to rotate left and right. - Left Click to shoot a laser. - Laser beams melt ice crystals. - Ice crystals drop water when melted. - Each water drop is worth 1mL. - To win, you must collect over 1L of water. (101mL or over) - Your battery recharges outside of caves and tunnels, but drains in and under them. - If your battery reaches 0%, you lose. CREDITS: Made by Crawler Games Powered by Unity Created with Blender and GIMP Programmed in Boo. *The Game contains only my content and was all made in 48 hours* Rate and comment. What did you think? Thanks for playing my first LD48 game. *EDIT* okay, I messed up the score. It was suppose to be 100mL per crystal. Sorry!! I also messed up on the description too. (changed it) *Fixes* - How many milliliters in a liter fix (each crystal is not worth 10mL, not 1) - Player heals faster [Note that the only fixes were bugs and typos, and I did not add/change any features, or graphics in the game]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#406Mood3.16
#457Audio2.91
#613Innovation2.97
#676Graphics2.97
#717Overall3.00
#798Fun2.75
#988Theme2.64
#1046Humor1.55

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Very trippy. Loved the music!

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

Nicely built world and overall game! Impressive with such a 3d world, would be fun with some jump and platform mechanics. FOV of camera is a bit extreme. Seems a bit impossible and tedious to collect 1000 items tho :)

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

i liked the fisheye camera. The music and ambiance of the drew me in and made it enjoyable looking for those water crystals.

alvivar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

BOO rules!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Mars is awesome. Nice submission.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Strangely addicting and satisfying.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

pretty inovative =D I felt quite lonely while playing this, but I guess this is how a landrover feels when beeing on a mission

NathanBrower says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Good job! I liked the music and overall gameplay. My only critique would be that your battery should recharge faster. I found myself just sitting and waiting outside a cave for a while until I felt it was OK to venture in. Also the FOV was a tad excessive in my opinion.

Also props to you for coding this in Boo ;)

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Just moving in one direction watching the scenery is oddly satisfying. Can't explain it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Interesting theme and I had fun playing the game. Nice 3d work. The font went well with the theme but it was super hard to read in the instructions page.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

The game was really good! I loved the Fov effect on the camera and i liked the solar panel idea.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

The camera perspective is cool. The environment is well done as well. Great job!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04am

Sorry to be this guy but your description says: "To win, you must collect over 1L of water. (101mL or over)"

1L is 1000mL, not 100

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice mechanics and satisfying gameplay, nice submission.

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40am

Quite interesting interpretation, this LD gave us many space games, including my own.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Wow, quite impressive! I love it when you have to explore a world, even in a small game.

The map repeats itself a bit too much though, it would be more challenging if there were more obstacles and more complex caves/tunnels. The batteries could also recharge faster, just sitting around waiting for them to recharge is boring.

But overall well done!

Seme says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Music greated nice mood. Controls were nicely responsive. Nice game overall! Good job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]