Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Cold Night

by hyouko - Jam Entry

I've added a post-compo version with some difficulty options and a number of other small tweaks. If you struggled with the controls or difficulty of the original version, you might want to give this a try... it should still be pretty hard, though!

---

One cold night, you feel a rumbling to the north. There is a great commotion.

Soon after, your master leads you outside, to the base of the mountain. He places three objects -

a scarf,

a hat,

an old shoe

on the snow in front of you. "Go," he says, "save them." You do not understand his words, but still you know what you must do.

---

A game made in 48 hours using the love2D framework. Compatible with keyboard and gamepad.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#29Theme(Jam)3.98
#71Mood(Jam)3.87
#92Innovation(Jam)3.70
#140Overall(Jam)3.58
#168Audio(Jam)3.51
#216Graphics(Jam)3.78
#286Fun(Jam)3.14
#344Humor(Jam)2.66

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

The snow looks great and conveys depth really well. I was only able to find one person between my three attempts. I am sort of unclear on how the sniffing helps. Nice work overall.

hyouko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Sniffing helps you find the scent of things buried under the snow, including food and people. You probably won't find all three if you aren't taking advantage of the buried food... I'm considering adding a note to that effect in the intro text.

(To sniff properly, you need to hold down the sniff button. You'll start to see scents show up as colored blobs streaming from the ground - there are three scent sources right above you when you start.)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

Hello! A fellow lÖver!

This game is the best I've played so far, the graphics are incredible, and the gameplay is super fun. I love your use of the theme.

Nice job dude, super awesome!

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

Well done.

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

i like the art, really good snow depth as mental atrophy said

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

Liked the game, although it's a bit hard. Enjoyed the snow digging mechanics and the use of sound. The plot makes you want to give another try time after time you fail to save people. Ah, the power of words ;). Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

The snow graphics... just WOW! Im speechless

Really interesting mechnics. One of the most original games ive played so far

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

great mood! so sad when my master died ;_; And I like your theme interpretation, more out of the box than just terraria clone or diving/surfing game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Really cool idea! I couldn't find anyone after my 6 attempts, but I am going to keep playing. Great work.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I found the gameplay (particularly the scent trails) confusing, but I like the idea behind the mechanics!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

I loved the ambient, the sounds were very awesome :D the game is addictive :D cute game here. Also i love how the graphics look, is like 2D but if you remove the snow now feels 3D, great work :D

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very clever use of the theme, very polished all round. Loved it!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

I love the snow effect that you used, that really makes the game! Great job! This is a really cool game!

Collan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21am

Games like this are the reason I wanted to be a part of LD. Fantastic job on this!

kogyblack says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:22am

Nice concept. Snow was really well done graphically.
Audio annoyed me a little bit, since the snowstorm effect kept repeating every one second and it was louder that bark and sniff.
Couldn't find anything in 3 attempts, but I like the concept a lot.

Penguincat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:43am

The graphical style is great, especially the snow. So far I haven't been able to rescue anyone, but I've gotten close a few times - it's a nice challenge! The story was surprisingly effective given how brief it was.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:03am

Awesome game, I liked the graphics very much, Also, very hard to win.

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:04am

Great game. The visual aesthetic is good, and the mechanics are solid.

Jed T. says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:36am

Graphics is outstanding with the snow particles and the cute sprites. Audio is also well executed as I can hear the wind gushing into the air. Controls are very slick. However the game mechanics could improve as running around and finding buried things could get very repetitive after a while. May removing the things that were dug out? and putting a things to find counter at the top? But overall, great job!

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:39am

Couldnt find anyone even after checking the comments to see how to use the sniff ability...I kept faintly hearing a help over the wind but dug all over the screen to find no one :( pretty sad ending lol. But that snow depth graphic though! truly fantastic! like wow!

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The graphics looks nice, but I couldn't figure out how to play. I'm holding my rating for now.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Kind of hard, but the graphics and audio are fantastic, and extremely polished!

awppy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:19am

Didn't fully read the controls before playing, since pressing the dig key skipped the text. Did eventually figure out what sniffing and digging did; never figured out what the point of barking was. Finally found the last trapped person, but as soon as I approached and pressed the dig button, it counted as "found" and immediately skipped the text ):

hyouko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:22am

Hey folks,

For those who are struggling with the controls or difficulty, sit tight - I'm working on a post-compo edition this weekend. I plan to add some difficulty options, a few more cues (particularly around the scent-tracking mechanic), and a couple of surprises.

Thank you for all your comments and feedback so far!

v3games says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:47am

I had trouble rating your game accurately in the fun category because it wasn't really fun in the traditional sense but it was very immersive/engaging. It felt futile searching for your master and seeing every action you take knock down your activity meter. I'm not sure if the game is really hard or if I just am playing wrong but I couldn't find my master. You did a great job creating a game with emotional connections in 72 hours.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:48pm

the mood of this game was great but It was way too hard - no idea of where anything is - nice effort

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I have found food, but have yet to find a single person

Jeremias says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The way you present the snow and the depth of a hole is so creative. While I always found food but never a survivor, the game invokes a certain feeling. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]