Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Diggers

by 7elephants - Jam Entry

>> IMPORTANT, READ THIS BEFORE PLAYING << Space Digger is an online, multiplayer game. You have 20 workers. The goal is to use them to explore beneath the surface of planets and claim mineral seams for extraction. Open the ranking to check how you are doing. INSTRUCTIONS (galaxy view): 1- Use your mouse to select the planet you want to visit 2- Select the sector of the planet you want to explore INSTRUCTIONS (gameplay): - WASD/Arrows: Movement - z/j: action and attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.51
Coolness70%
#4Graphics(Jam)4.77
#10Overall(Jam)4.24
#23Theme(Jam)4.04
#29Mood(Jam)4.17
#48Innovation(Jam)3.84
#58Fun(Jam)3.71
#109Humor(Jam)3.40

Comments

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

HOLY SHIT! The art and the game are awesome!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Reqlly good game !
Awesome work !
The graphics and music are so cool !

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Excellent game! I will be checking on my evil mining corporation once in while.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Amazing looking game, to bad you can't do anything with the money you make. further more it would be nice if the data would be persistent for when i return to the game
did find one bug, where i could get hit by a spike but then keep standing on it afterwards, this game does have a lot of potential

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Good Job! Art is awesome you blew my mind!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Woah, I really love the graphic style you used in the game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Wow, awesome multiplayer game! The concept is cool, I found the player a bit slow, but anyway, I really enjoyed mining some planets! :) (I hope you develop this game further, it has a great potential. ^^)

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Thank you everyone for your comments! We are having a great time trying to beat your scores in the ranking! :D :D

Hey Therrato, the game is persistent. Simply go back to the game and you can keep playing :)

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Great concept! Hats off for artwork and music. The enemies are a bit easy / boring. With harder enemies, $ spending for upgrades (auto-defense, hazop-suite, better tools etc. etc.) this has great potential!

Seppel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48pm

The first 30 minutes was really fun!

Then I mined everything in Andromeda and memorized the 6 - 8 different maps. Then I went to explore elsewhere and noticed that my reactors stopped working for no explainable reason. I lost interest because it became a war-of-attrition game. Also I'm #1 by an excessive score. And I have no idea what pollution does.

It was fun.

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Seppel: Are you Tail Kiss? :P I have been trying to beat you for a while but you have been really busy building that high-score :D

It is true that it can lose interest after a while... Unfortunately we didn't have time to include the economy mechanics we had planned originally.

Thanks for your feedback, we will take it into account for future revisions of the game :)

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Wow! I love this! Art's rad, sound's great, multiplayer aspect is pretty cool too!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

This is really impressive considering the time limit. The presentation is beautiful, and the multiplayer aspects are interesting.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17am

Really cool game and concept ! :D
Good Job !

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Wow, all that in 72h? That is amaaaaaaaaaazing :)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Wow, this is a brilliant entry in all fields, definitely one of the best entries I've found so far.

You've got a very promising game if you keep expanding on it. Amazing work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Nice game, lovely art!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Awesome visuals! Scrolliing a bit buggy sometimes, and enemy AI too, slime golem blocked my way...
Anyway it's gorgeous!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I'm just like : "WOW =O" !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Excellent!! you win brou, you win =D

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31pm

really impressive
great great game for a jam

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Very fun little game! Loved the visuals and audio. Great work!

7elephants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Thank you all again for the good vibes about our game!

You encourage us greatly to improve it and go over some of the known bugs as soon as the Ludum Dare finishes! Keep on breaking that ranking!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:39pm

It definitely looks pretty, but I immediately got stuck on top of an enemy walking into a wall that completely boxed me in :(

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:00am

Bonus point for doing a multiplayer game, and doing it so well :)

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

great art!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Pretty good game. It felt empty when no one was on, but still cool concept.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:52am

Internal server error when I checked the link. Can't play it.

7elephants says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Thanks for the info Crowbreak! We are now redirecting to a secondary URL while we investigate why our main web server is down.

Please try again, it should work!

7elephants says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Update: The server is also down so you won't be able to play the game until we can fix it.

Will keep you posted.

7elephants says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:38pm

The issue has been fixed, keep enjoying the game!

joe40001 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:17am

Very impressive game considering the time constraints, innovative and easily one of the best looking games, it would have been absolutely amazing if you could procedurally generate the planets rather than reskinning the same handful of maps but that's a minor quibble because the skins look great, and the game is extremely impressive! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:03am

wow - just an amazing amount of polish - great job team!

ErikU says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:21am

Very impressive to get a server-backed game in so little time. The mechanic was a little simple, but the accomplishment of tying it all together in this amount of time is well worth applause. Congratulations to you all.

Rustam says ...
Apr 28, 2017 @ 6:19am

PhotoSpeak Player is the limited-feature version of PhotoSpeak. http://goodtorrentdownloadingservice.gdn (We do not accept any responsibility of not correct postcode and/or latitude/longitude data if it is not correct.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]