Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Persephone

by WhoaConstrictor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Persephone is an adventure game where you must escape the underworld.

CONTROLS:
Space: Swim upwards
W: Move away from camera
S: Move towards camera
A: Move left
D: Move right

I wish I could have gotten this a bit more polished up by the deadline, but it is what it is. This was my first time making a truly 3D game and I learned that yes, in fact, controls aren't easy. I'm mostly upset I didn't get controls taught in-game.

UPDATE: fixed a gamebreaking bug, and adjusted the level a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Is there a way to use the key once you get it?

peejaygee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

You go back under and the dood tells you there is the key, I kept jumping out the water and dying, good game though

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

the atmosphere is great! i really like this game! i found the ambrosia =p

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

this was really cool as a little test and experience. all of the tech was really impressive

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

i founf the pomengranate. didn't know what to do next though. Loved the music! :)

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice music, felt weird when I was out of the water. I really likes the mix between 8-bit graphics and 3D ones.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Love the general atmosphere and music, very immersive. Gameplay is interesting and I enjoyed it, maybe controls are a little hard to master at first but nothing to worry about. Great use of the theme IMO.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Very nice atmosphere. I loved the soul in the river styx conception. I never found out what to do after getting the pomegranite though; it sucks, because I was genuinely interested in what was going to happen next. The controls we a bit difficult at times though. Good game

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Kudos for the innovative gameplay! I would have liked the light ball to be a bit faster, and also a bit more work on the ending. Other than that, the ambiance, music, and everything overall made this an enjoyable experience!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]