Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

the two of you

by 607 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The two of you is a rather difficult puzzle platformer.
"This is you.
But not only this is you.
You also have a darker side."

The gameplay is teached to you in-game.

This was made using GarageBand, Game Maker 8.1, sfxr and paint.net.
Two existing fonts were used, of which one slightly changed.
For more information click the info tab in-game.

I'll make the walkthrough in the coming week, so currently the "Stuck?" button doesn't work.

It is advised that you play the easier difficulty when first doing this. The "puzzles" are the same, but there are checkpoints within some levels, and sometimes jumps are made somewhat easier. The game is winnable at harder difficulty though.

Executable is included as a download via google drive, same with zipped source.

Includes 607's
Code;
Music;
Humor;
Graphics

[/p]

[p]
Oh wait. In the info and everywhere it says Ludum Dare 27... That should be 29 >.<

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#290Innovation3.46
#398Overall3.33
#433Fun3.15
#515Audio2.84
#623Theme3.19
#639Mood2.90
#1080Graphics2.31
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Rock48 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Pretty fun, I'll modify my vote when I can listen to the sounds. Please Please Please Please PLEEASE add checkpoints

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Pretty fun, I'll modify my vote when I can listen to the sounds. Please Please Please Please PLEEASE add checkpoints, also it seems I have to force quit to make the game exit.

thristhart says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

Wow! I'm impressed. I was very pleasantly surprised by the depth of some of the platforming puzzles. I didn't end up beating it, so who knows what's at the end, but I was pleased with what I saw. You also did well at allowing for instant retries, which can make or break games like this.

Graphics and sound are more functional than pretty, but the legitimately well-thought-out level design makes up for it.

eugman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:45am

Very challenging platformer. I really like the idea of controlling two players at the same time.

mrhill says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:40am

Never has a game needed checkpoints more then this one.
That said, if you would give me the source code for like one hour I would could do something awesome because this is on the verge of amazing

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:28am

wish i'd read to play the easier mode at the start! think you probably take too long to get to the actual interesting under the surface part - but it is a really cool idea. good work on the music also :)

Hammervuis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:23am

Very smart. Checkpoints would be great...

stenol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:46am

Very good little game. Gratz !

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Pleasantly challenging platformer.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:06am

Wow, you weren't kidding when you said it was difficult! I didn't get as far as I would have liked, but I thoroughly enjoyed trying it. Extremely challenging game.

In response to your comment on my game: I honestly never thought about what they grey was. It's pretty much just the boundary of the game, and not actually supposed to represent any substance. I guess the idea is that you fell into some deep hole and probably died on impact? The grey color was just there for me to put text on, mostly.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Good job

klianc09 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Really fun but unbelievable hard. I'm not even sure if more checkpoints would help much. It would be great if there were more walls where you can re-align your characters, not always floors directly ending in spikes.

Great job, got me hooked for more than I care to admit, but still wasn't able to beat it...

May 18, 2014 @ 5:24am

This looks like a very fun puzzle-platformer! But it's too frustrating for me... I stopped playing on the second level.

I think the difficulty needs to be rebalanced, but overall, it's a nice game! =D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]