Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Some People

by maxhaesslein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You know like some people look happy but beneath their surface the are figthing, unseen by the outer observer?
This is a story about one of them."


You play two characters at the same time -- the happy one, on the surface, whos job it is to collect items and receive health or ammo and the angry one, beneath the surface who kills enemies and collects points.


Written from scratch in pure JavaScript. Graphics and animations made with Photoshop, Pixen & Pickle. Sounds made with cfxr.


up, down, left & right for movement
space for jumping & shooting


sorry for the loud sound, didn't realize this while making the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#101Innovation3.88
#109Theme3.85
#425Overall3.31
#489Fun3.09
#807Audio2.25
#826Graphics2.74
#955Humor1.85
#1019Mood2.43

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nicely done, I like the "duality" of this game and the interpretation of the theme. The audio was REALLY loud, though!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07am

I really like it! The idea is great

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11am

Nice concept, would have worked for two worlds or reflection etc themes also...
I think the shmup controls needed a lot more polish, it seemed a bit too difficult, maybe there was too much inertia.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

The dual world aspect is really good. Nice little JavaScript game, well executed. Perhaps a little too much inertia on the vessel.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

It's hard to play you must train you hand to play this game.But the gameplay is done very well

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Oh wow, really like this concept. Nicely done :) Bonus points for Javascript :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

147 seconds and 1343 points! Interesting dual-gameplay idea :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Good for the asymetric gameplay, hope you will not receive any wii u joke xD

guardiancs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I really like the concept of the game but I don't understand why the ship must be damaged when we too far up or down :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Fun and could really be expanded upon

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I love that you also went with the "You control more than one" theme. And the fact that the top guy has to collect bullets for the ship! That's a really cool mechanic!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Great job, very addictive and clean!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Interesting concept, it was engaging managing both levels.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

that metaphor is genius! Im in love with the core idea, but I didnt enjoy the gameplay that much (not that much into bullethell). Feels polished and rouded up! =)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Excellent duality of the gameplay. I love this idea & i guess it will be fantastic on a "big" game ;) Keep the good work !

DMinsky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50am

Cool idea!

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very cool idea with this one. It was really fun balancing the two different game-play styles and nice how they impacted each other. The only issues I ran into was on my first play I didn't get any sound and it also crashed at one point and froze my browser when I hit a wall. Everything was flawless on the second playthrough though.

Great work!

mogwai says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Fun and innovative mechanics. Good job.

GagaPete says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Combining these two games creates an pretty nice game game mechanic. 151 seconds and 941 points.

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Interesting concept. Separatedly the parts of your game are simple, but it's challenging to concentrate on both combined. Some more variation would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]