Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Linked

by ALobker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your twin brother has gone missing! You need to find him and help him escape. Because you are identical twins you are mentally linked. You both have to work together to help your brother escape.

Controls:
Use A-D or left and right arrow to move. Use W, up arrow or space to jump.

Custom levels:
You can create your own levels for this game! All you need is a text editor. Look at some of the other levels for inspiration.

Created in Unity. Mac and Linux versions can be compiled from source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#299Innovation3.44
#654Overall3.09
#707Theme3.09
#709Fun2.85
#793Humor2.12
#899Mood2.60
#908Audio1.97
#963Graphics2.53

Comments

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I really enjoyed the gameplay concept in this. Although with the spinning thing it was a bit confusing.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice idea. It is a bit odd that one can stand in the air while the other is standing on a block. But I enjoyed it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Impressive game! I remember a similar game on Super Nintendo where you control 2 penguins at once, though their physics was independent. Is 4th level winnable?

ALobker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

@enepomnyaschih: No, actually the 4th level was a sort of template for people to build their own levels.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I like the idea of being able to create your own levels!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Not a bad game.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Did not experience any bugs with collision. The levels are a bit bland and lack actual challenge but it is a nicely made game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Innovative. It was a little tricky at first, but then I got the hang of it. Nice concept.

ALobker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Thanks everyone! If anybody wants to send their level to me, I will include it in the Windows version and the source (Web version is much harder to do).

TeamInCharge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:47am

Great concept indeed. Has the potential for a much larger game.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

The walls seem a bit buggy when your touching them.

CaiusTSM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:47pm

The collision is a bit strange on the turning parts. It is a pretty fun idea though :)

jorgemoag says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:05am

good concept, i like the idea, good implementation

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very nice concept using theme.

copain says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:31pm

some collision problems, Maybe if physics was independant, it maybe will better chalenge?...

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Interesting mechanics. After the voice over I thought that there will be a story.

ALobker says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Thanks for the nice comments guys! I know the physics are a bit weird with the rotating things, but there was no more time to make something better.

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I enjoyed it. It is a little bit rough around the edges but it's ok, you focused on gameplay and that ended up pretty good. I would have like to play more levels.

FREEZX says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Fits the theme, great idea

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]