Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

CRUSHER TIME (v3.0)!

by DarkMaster - Jam Entry

Here we go! After a long journey of bad programming practices, unfactored code and lots of "compile, compile, compile" testing, here is my game: CRUSHER TIME!

The game is... uh... okay, I'll tell you: You have a AWESOME crusher and you must hit all the people walking below the AWESOME crusher! Can you see how AWESOME is? No? Okay. :(

Also... I've decided to make in a different way. Instead of the so overused "Java/HTML5/Flash/Windows", the PSP was the chosen one. YES, that's it! You'll need a good emulator (PPSSPP is great) or just a hacked PSP in order to work (don't know if it runs on Vita).

How it fits to the theme? Who knows? I just had fun making the game, nothing else matters. :P

EDIT: Just figured out something: the emulator itself lacks good accuracy. I've been updated the game to v3. Now you can play the game just fine on the real PSP. ;)

----------------------------------------------------------
How to play (PSP):
----------------------------------------------------------
- Extract the .RAR in your PSP/GAME folder.
- Run the game. It'll appear a black screen at the start, because the main assets are being loaded into memory. Just wait a few seconds and it's done.

----------------------------------------------------------
How to play (Emulator):
----------------------------------------------------------
- Download and install PPSSPP emulator.
- YOU MUST EXTRACT THE GAME'S FOLDER, otherwise it may not work.
- Run the emulator and look for the EBOOT.PBP. It should run just fine (also, depending of the configs, the game may start instantly).

I already tested the game on both platforms (PSP/emulator) and I'm sure there's nothing wrong with the game. If you're getting troubles, maybe you'll need to change some configs on the emulator in order to run.

That's it! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#231Fun(Jam)3.24
#277Graphics(Jam)3.62
#284Humor(Jam)2.79
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10
#439Audio(Jam)2.90
#449Mood(Jam)2.94
#525Overall(Jam)2.95
#675Theme(Jam)2.32
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This is great. I love the colors!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice Arcade Game. The music is quite cool. Graphics is also fitting and well done. The Gameplay is strange. Why do I have to smash those poor guys?
Theme is ... um ahh.. cannot find the relation.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17am

very nice game fun and simple, i like the idea maybe make an android version id say this would work well on it,
I dont exactly see any resemblance to the theme

BigRat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56am

Really made nice. I love the colors .

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:16am

Cool! First emulated game I've played this LD. Hehe, like Zerkruemler, I have no idea why I'm smashing these guys. :D Great graphics and nice music. Nice arcadey feel. Not sure about the theme link though?

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:40am

NINJAS! (?)

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:39pm

amazing graphic style!

DonovanWu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice game. I'm gonna play with my friends to see who can get a higher score!

vilya says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Looks neat, but I'm afraid having to install and set up a PSP emulator in order to run it is a step too far for me. Sorry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]