Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defend the Surface

by zeal - Jam Entry

Press any key to PLAY. Hold the key to hold the ice rock, lift the key to drop it.

My second Ludum Dare! All in all this is a five hours of work originally meant for the compo but I didn't make the compo deadline. Hope you all enjoy this little game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#501Graphics(Jam)3.03
#506Humor(Jam)2.23
#540Theme(Jam)2.79
#568Innovation(Jam)2.59
#597Audio(Jam)2.28
#626Mood(Jam)2.53
#659Fun(Jam)2.32
#716Overall(Jam)2.38

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I couldn't make any sense of this. Nice art style though.

zeal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Thanks! I should have included the instructions with the game. You press any key when you need to speed up. Press any key when the Inuit guy is touching the ice block and lift the key only when you are right above the penguin to eliminate him so he cannot get into your igloo.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Not so easy! I especially like the penguin sound.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Cool, nice variation of the "one button" game. Was a bit too hard for me, however... Those damn penguins! :)

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Interesting gameplay, but probably need more of than just one mechanic. Good job!

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:20am

Difficult, but kinda fun. I'm a big fan of penguins and this made me sad :( 8/10

jtcrash says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:24am

That my friends is how you waste your life! Quite addictive when you get the hang of it.. that being said still didn't get more than 6 :(

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

I like the penguin sound. The art style is pretty cool too.

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I have no idea why I enjoyed this so much haha

The controls just seem in that nice place of easy to pick up but hard to master! Nice art style and fun game. Great design as it is addictive!

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Epic game XD, nice art style and killing the penguins make things so satisfying

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:40pm

A fun game because it's so damn weird. Protect the surface from penguins using ice cubes? Looks good, and it took me a while to get a good score. (7 is my highest by the way.) Good job for only 5 hours!!

Daveloper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Nice submission, controlling the player felt a bit odd, moving and picking up then holding the button threw me off for a bit.

teambrookvale says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:48am

Art is cool but a little explanation would be good. I was a bit lost what to do. But still a fun game

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:46pm

The game gets boring after sometime. There could have been some power ups or stuff like that.

lightsoda says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Pretty decent for the time you put in. Kinda hard to get the right drop when you move that fast.

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:10am

This one made me laugh - simple controls, and ridiculous graphics and sound ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]