Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the kitchen surface

by lorniebear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I am back to try and beat my dad for the second time! I didn't quite make it last time, but I am trying just as hard. The fact that I'm competing against real game developers like Notch makes it even better!

Dad's still forcing me to do my homework and to go to bed on time, so I suspect he's getting nervous.

Thank you to all who tried this game and gave feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#126Humor3.39
#278Audio3.21
#596Fun2.97
#655Mood2.89
#823Theme2.94
#859Graphics2.68
#945Overall2.77
#1063Innovation2.33

Comments

Guennor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:33am

Not bad, assuming you're a little kid. Good luck beating your dad. I wanna see his game also. :P

lorniebear says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:24am

My dad's username is badlydrawnrod

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/badlydrawnrod/

badlogic says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

This is a pretty cool game where you are a mouse and have to avoid different obstacles like tomatoes and spiders (i hate spiders...) and get as many cupcakes as you can ( love me some cupcakes!). I found the sound effects and the graphics to be really good for such a short amount of time! I wished the mouse would keep moving while i hold down a cursor key, but it was also OK to tap the keys constantly.

Great stuff, hope to see more next year!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Excellent presentation, and I really love that you made put a working shop in there. Your games get better with each Ludum Dare and it is very rewarding to see you grow as a programmer and game designer. One day your games will inspire people, much as Notch inspires you.

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Not bad for a Scratch game!

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The intro made me laugh. Keep it going!!!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I think the audio was the highlight. Enjoyed the authentic, homemade feel of it. Controls could have been a bit smoother, though.

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Especially liked the shop and how the game over message was so encouraging.

Off to try your dad's game now to compare :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Keep it up, I'm sure you'll beat your dad at this some day. Great job!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I've never liked Scratch and never will. I like this in spite of that.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Great work for someone young. Keep it up!

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I really enjoyed this game. I liked that you could save up for outfits (never bought the speed increase). I really liked the look of it and the sound effects and thought that the way it tells you your score, personal best and global high score was pretty cool.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

I actually played this for quite awhile. Nice job! I like that you implemented an upgrade shop. That definitely made me play longer so I could unlock the faster speed. I bought some of the cosmetic items but they didn't seem to appear on my mouse. I enjoyed your music too! Keep up the good work!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40am

This is really cute! I enjoyed it, especially the little cat with the hat in the shop.

When you lose, if you restart, you get stuck in the same place you died in. Which means that if you lose while on the top of the screen, the mouse will respawn at the top of the screen and likely lose again.

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Nice game! Now let's try your dad's game to see if even having to do your homework, you still beat him :)

dook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Hehe, I really like this father, daughter competition. I have to say his game could benefit from a shop with hats and such :) Not bad

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Great job! I hope you keep on making games :)

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Oh, I remember you and your dad from last year. It's unusual but really awesome to see a parent and child both take part in a game competition! And your game is pretty cool game! I kept playing for several minutes, seeing how close I could get to the highscore. My best was 64012. :)

May 11, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Super, stinking cute! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]