Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Frack!

by guscost - Jam Entry

SpaceFrack v1.0

You are the pilot of the latest in Super-Expensive Outer-Space Fracking Technology!
Drive around to find resources and frack them open.
But beware - rival mining companies have been drilling these parts for years and won't hesitate to blast you away.

Game engine parts: https://github.com/nornagon/atom
Explosion particle effect: http://www.gameplaypassion.com/blog/explosion-effect-html5-canvas/
Some sounds: freesound.org

If anyone knows how to get the background music (<audio> element) to loop correctly, please fork or send a message! Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#181Innovation3.65
#275Theme3.59
#550Humor2.44
#629Fun2.94
#680Audio2.53
#681Overall3.06
#801Mood2.71
#1042Graphics2.41
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

Interesting concept, nice job:)

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

Challenging!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:34am

Pretty fun, good work :)

pyrogames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

fun and interesting but a little confusing

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

I like the idea but you are suppose to make your own content including sounds.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Nice idea!

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

I like that after I lose, I must watch the other guy suck up the resources --> really gets me fired up to conquer.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Neat game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Nice game.
Music get's a little repetitive but to be honest I'm nit picking there.
Good fun, nice game, like the protesters they were a good difficulty curve.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Interesting concept shame there's not a better AI, but good fun

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Fun gameplay, it would be cool if you added a multiplayer mode. I laughed when I accidentally killed the anti fracking protester.

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

With better AI and some more varied gameplay and modes, this can turn out to be a great little game! I think you can definitely take this furhter. Good luck in the compo.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Good idea and good game, i like the audio. It is a little too long to play again when you lose.

derLPMaxe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Well that is challenging. I like it. I only miss some sounds.

guscost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Thanks for the feedback!

- Whoops, maybe I'm not eligible to win because of using some freesounds. Next time!
- The AI should be fixed! Or at least not get stuck
- Multiplayer would be great
- OK, now you get one retry, then it's back to the start!

guscost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05am

To clarify it appears that the AI *is* fixed in that it does not get stuck anymore.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Very cool! At first I didn't know how to get resources but once I got this....I loved the music as well. Very good job!

DecayConstant says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:34pm

When I start the game it immediately freeze after I hit enter and this error appears in the console:

Uncaught InvalidStateError: Failed to execute 'noteOff' on 'AudioBufferSourceNode': cannot call stop more than once. game.js:199

Catman says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice concept, althought the collisions with enemies were a little confusing.

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:23am

Nice idea, but it's so hard to kill the enemy!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]