Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Strung Out

by valid4life - Jam Entry

I certainly did the best i could in the small amount of time i had. This game was made in about an hour and a half right after i got home from school!

Arrow Keys are used to move to the left and right
X is too drop your line officially
Using the up and down arrow keys allows you to move the fishing line up and down.

There is no winning, but simply try and get the highest score possible in the one minute provided!

The Post-Jam version of the game includes some small music and non fullscreen invasion!
The Jam version is fullscreen by default while the post-jam is not! Gameplay wise, they are both completely equal!

Press Q to disable music on Post-Jam game

I know this certainly is NOT the best, but i made it for the fun of Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links




Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

I noticed a lot of the fish couldn't be caught. As far as I know there is no win condition, and I think something as simple as some basic audio would have added a lot to the game. If you made it in an hour and a half though, that's incredible! Far more than I had at that point. Good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Good work considering the time constraints!

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

The fish at the bottom mock me. They taunt me, looking up at me with their fishy faces.

There will always be one that got away. Always.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Nice work for such a short time working on it!

Mago says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

Considering the time it was made fair attempt. Very similar game to mine.

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

I like to think of the fish you can't catch as the government putting regulations on fishing boats. It's against the law to fish at certain depths, thereby protecting the fish population. Genius!

In all seriousness, not bad for working within the time constraints. Hopefully next time you will use more time and make a more feature-filled game! It seems like you understand the basics of what kind of mechanics work well in games, now you just need to find the motivation to dedicate more time :) No excuses!

Oh, and one small nit-picky criticism. Not a huge deal, but you might want to re-think automatically going full-screen in the future. Some people (like me) don't like it when games do that without asking first. It messes all my windows up and such.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

With that time constraint, it's a pretty nice entry!
Most of the fish can't be caught and some are even generated out of the water :)

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Hey, you made a better game in 90 minutes than a lot of people made in 72 hours. Kudos for that.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

Those bottom fish are so smug.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Finally, a fishing game!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53am

as hyouko implied, this game is a sad commentary on adult life. The things we desire nearly out of reach, no real endgame just a perpetual repetition of the same mundane task, and yet we must find some way to enjoy the little things. Like simulated fishing. lol jk this was fun :)

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:03am

You got the theme down! But it was quite frustrating how some of the fishies couldn't be caught

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:29am

Haha it was fun! fishing games are always cool

MidCry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Another fishing game ... second in a row ... Cool game

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Not bad for one and a half hours! Good job!

It would be nice if the fishing line would go down in a continuous fashion and would be able to reach the bottom. It is quite frustrating to not be able to catch all the fish (even though I guess it's like that in real life, too).

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I caught 43 pastel colored fishies! I like the fish graphics. There isn't a whole lot of fun gameplay here unfortunately. Would be nice if the fish moved around or if I had to keep recasting occasionally rather than just feeling like I'm a fish vacuum.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]