Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under a rock sky

by Cash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Under a rock sky is a simple platform game set in 3 different caves where 3 miners lost their way home. You are the one who has to save them.
--Controls--
Arrow keys:move
A:Jump
S(keep pressed):run
On a rope
Up/Down:climb up/down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Fun3.72
#157Audio3.48
#348Overall3.40
#395Mood3.17
#432Theme3.40
#679Humor2.27
#738Graphics2.88
#899Innovation2.60
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

A very fun little game. Maybe add checkpoints as i had to restart the level loads(maybe because im just bad at it haha)

Very nice Entry 8/10

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

fun little game, liked the music.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Cool game!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Fun game! Music was really good.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37am

Oh man, awesome game! The sound was pretty good! :)

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Fun game! Wish you'd spawn closer to the point you die. Kudos for the music!

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16am

Completed it! Was pretty awesome.

FyberOptic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:19am

I ended up enjoying it a lot more than I initially expected. Good job!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:13pm

I wish the boulders still spawned after you die. Without them the game is a bit tedious.
Either way still saved everyone :D Awesome little game!

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:19pm

That game was aweosme! Controls were goods, graphics were pleasant to look at, levels were correct.
And the music! I actually lost right at the end of the third level so I could hear it loop some more.
One of the best entry I have seen so far. Congratulations!

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:52pm

The physics were a bit weird but the game was still very fun. I enjoyed playing through it.

Cash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Thanks everyone,I wasn't expecting so many people to enjoy this little game and I was totally not expecting so many people would enjoy the music(thanks aboundant-music!)

May 3, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I wish that you would have run by default, seeing as there is no reason to walk. Also, the rocks should have reset every time you die, but it's a good game regardless. I especially liked the level variety shown in level 3.

mneubrand says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice ramp up in difficulty. Good music/sfx. Player physics felt a bit wonky. Felt like jumping around on the moon :). Very enjoyable

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Fine pixel graphics and music.
The boulders and lava provide a good challenge.
The movement in the air and on the ropes is great, but the running feels a bit sluggish.
Although conceptually simple, it was a joy to play through those three levels.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I liked the game, nice music. The difficulty sometimes had an strange curve, also because in some levels after you died, the falling rocks did not appeared again.
The graphics work well, the controls I did found them weird at the beggining, and would have rather always run instead of pressing S.

TobiasW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:02am

I'm not really sure why you didn't make running standard if I can run all the time - I never stopped holding the S key. Apart from that: Pretty cool game. I liked the scripted boulders - especially the one in level 2 that came out of the wall behind me was great!

Waterman7 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice little entry. I like how you have to get back to the beginning after saving a guy, makes the level design more interesting.
I thought it was bit too easy though, I only died once on purpose to see what happens.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]