Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pinger

by Chris Mondok - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pinger is a mining game where the player uses sonar to mine for gold while avoiding water. The objective is to get all of the gold while digging up as little dirt as possible. The game is played with a mouse and (optionally) a keyboard. Instructions are provided in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Theme4.09
#51Innovation4.05
#62Overall3.91
#130Fun3.64
#599Mood2.94
#654Graphics3.00
#669Audio2.55
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Fasox says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

One of the most fun games i played in this Jam.
Congratz!

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

very innovative idea and nice graphics too :) However I couldn't pass level two because of a bug (when I found the first gold piece, the ping didn't work anymore)

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I like the idea of the game. It has potential. I enjoyed it.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Yesss. This is really good. Let-the-player-figure-it-out kind of game that makes you feel clever for figuring it out on your own. The different game modes are also welcome, although the first mode is perfectly interesting on its own! Well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Solid entry ! I love the gameplay :) Congrats !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very nice game! A recommendation is to add more features to make levels a bit more different. After level 4, it gets boring.

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

WOW! This was really fun, and in some cases challenging. Very nice concept. I got a total score of 359!

zeh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Great game. And not just because I'm a lover of all kinds of triangulation.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This was very fun, my final score was 380 (I was pretty reckless.) Once I figured out that space would ping things went a lot faster. Good job!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice idea, but steering makes me angry. Still, good job!

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Liked this one a lot. The pinging mechanic is a really cool way to map out the gold.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Great idea, well executed and very polished :)

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:36pm

This is actually surprisingly fun. Using the classic triangulating technique to find exactly where treasure is located is very satisfying. Nice work with this.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]