Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Baum

by Waterman7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a tree. Use your roots to grab as many bones as possible without touching the spiders.

Controls:
Mouse to aim, click to send out root.
Hover over spiders to prevent them from moving.


Check out more of my stuff on my website:
http://w7games.bplaced.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#97Mood3.76
#186Graphics3.82
#187Theme3.70
#211Innovation3.58
#289Overall3.46
#421Humor2.63
#433Fun3.15
#1049Audio1.37

Comments

Maxom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56am

Holy shit! This is awesome!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Wow cool and creepy, pitty there's no audio though.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Wow, great mood! And what a original (weird) game.
The old black and white style makes the lack of sound fitting, it's a silent movie!

And there's at least one surprise.

Do you make more games?

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Heh, nice touch with the balloon - very cool atmosphere!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

interesting concept, and nice looking. creepy!

ezolotko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

This one is cool

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Heh, nice touch with the balloon - very cool atmosphere!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I've always wanted to be a bone eating tree. Thanks for making a dream come true. Very nice :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Loved this, didn't read the instructions so I didn't know how to deal with the spiders but in a way that made it more challenging :)

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I really liked the graphics and nice little complexity of the game. Very straight forward to get going. If there had been fitting music to the feeling of the visual effects and the digging and spiders and happy balloon... then it would have been perfect.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Really nice ! Loved the old movie look. Nice gameplay idea, made me think about Sleepy Hollow. Great job !

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Beatiful game! I've composed some music for it (you can make a post-compo version with the music). Here you can download my music https://www.dropbox.com/s/bmzo1pjxy5ie60z/Background%20music%20for%20Baum.wma just write 'Music by Caridorc' somewhere in the game or in a read-me file. I hope you will enjoy my soundtrack!

hathol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Awesome mood and art style!

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

this is worth beeing developed further!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Never seen anything like this before, great job!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Wow, I love it! +5 Mood

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Super creepy, and strangely compelling.
There should be a way to fight spiders, or they should kill you instantly. The waiting helplessly for death part sucks.
Still, I enjoyed the game.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

This game is creepier than most zombie-based games I've seen xD Really nice looking and great interpretation of the theme. Thanks for making it!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56am

Interesting! I definitely agree with the other commenters that music would have made it even better.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Really good concept !
Your art and mood are so cool,
This game need a little music (:

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Ah, those dark and creepy trees, munching bones hidden from our eyes beneath the ground.

Great fit on theme, and moody graphics.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

That atmosphere sure helps the game a lot. I wish it had some sound, but the quiet of the black-and-white movie screen is also really creepy. The mechanics work well, and are surprisingly engaging. That feeling when one crawls up your roots! :D

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice black-and-white graphics, really stylish. Game was a bit slow but nevertheless fun.

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Very interesting! The atmosphere is quite something else, and it's quite difficult to manage the spiders when there are quite a lot of them. Great game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Nice, simple game with a a good style. No audio for me though.

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

"You are a tree. Use your roots to grab as many bones as possible without touching the spiders."
*looks at the image below*
*looks at the description again*
Hu.

Weird, creepy, slightly funny and stylish at the same time - I like it! The silent film (well, actually silent - pity there is no music!) look is pretty well executed.

The gameplay is fun, but I think a goal or fail condition would've enhanced it - like a timer, for example.

All in all, pretty cool and well done!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

Woah.

Feel like there needs to be more of a pattern to the spiders so you can better strategize when to make your move, but... woah.

pLaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Really cool. I like the simplicity of the concept. Presentation is also quite good.

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice simple casual game. It's perfect for a mobile app! :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Dark and creepy moody, so cool!

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Unmotivated vintage graphics made the gameplay a little funnier. Good job.

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Very very cool. Well done! The only thing that could improve it is audio, I think.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:44am

very nice game that looks awesome and gets hard very quick.
thumbs up!

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:57am

Those damn spiders!

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Really creepy and unique style, and fun too!

May 4, 2014 @ 10:47am

Really nice aesthetics and the mechanic is simple yet well implemented and addictive as well. Nice entry!

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:53am

Really cute, stylish and engaging to play. Although the visuals evoke movies from the silent era, I'd probably still like some sound, even if it was understated. Also, I felt like the difficulty curve didn't ramp up enough after a while - sure, I eventually died, but it felt more like eventual bad luck than the game exceeding my skill level (if that makes any sense). I think this would be even more fun on a touch screen since you could disable multiple spiders simultaneously (until you run out of fingers).

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Very nice atmosphere there. Has a creepy mood, and the gameplay is veryoriginal :D

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Wonderfully creepy. I understand the lack of audio given the aesthetic, but I think a tinkly piano soundtrack would work really well here.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:57am

nice work - some creepy sounds would have been nice too - great job

May 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

beautiful, weird and fun!!! Loved the black and white!

jtpup0 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I really like how creepy the atmosphere is, as well as figuring out that bones are good and crawly spider things are bad, nice game

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Loved the aesthetic!

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:29am

You really did awesome job creating a creepy atmosphere with visuals and I really like the ability to stop only 1 spider, that makes the game really fun to play, great job!

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Really good entry. I would love to find more games as innovative as this.

Shivur says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:26am

Cool original concept.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:26am

Really digging the silent-movie vibe.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:48am

Cool black and white style. Sounds would be fun.

BubuIIC says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:31am

Good idea - great implemenatation. Especially the setting which creates a dark and atmospheric mood. I like it very much!

alshirah says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great game. Great Graphics. No Audio. Overall I like it

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice vintage movie style but a bit hard on the eyes. Interesting new gameplay.

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:37am

Love the style, very tim burton.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:39am

Really great style! Audio could really improve this game.

ioboi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Difficult and creepy, I like it!

May 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Love the graphics and gameplay! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

angelk says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:47am

The film grain texture is really great, this would have felt like a totally different game without it. Nice job.

BubuIIC says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Very cool, I enjoyed the ambience. Thanks for rating our entry, by the way. And finally a web game, I can play on Linux.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I loved this, the idea, the graphics, very well done :)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Woah.
The style and mood is real scary.
Interesting and fresh gameplay.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Fantastic look and feel to it, and I liked the balloon. Right up there for mood, despite the lack of sounds.

May 16, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Graphics were cool, no audio sadly. Reptitive gameplay though, lacking feedback on the balloon "power up"

NightShadow0 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Definitely original haha, the art style is pretty appealing.

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Really fun and creepy! Could really use some audio :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:09am

haha, dat ambience so depressive! injoyable game! :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:11am

haha, dat ambience so depressive! enjoyable game! :)

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:13pm

That's so cool! Great little game, unique with a good concept. Like the atmosphere that really fits to the theme. Miss the audio, too bad :)

wademcgillis says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:36am

Fun little game!

I could never get the balloon though.

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:07pm

The mood is entrancing... I like the graphics, gameplay? soso.

pixelpun says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:58am

Something about this really creeps me out.. :P cool game!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:26am

salad fingers creepy

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Very artistic!

Kragnir says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:17am

Cool idea, think you created a nice mood with the graphics and effects. The gameplay could use some work and needs something that makes it interesting.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:30pm

awesome graphics and atmosphere on this one

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]