Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath your feet

by Druid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game based on less known creepypasta. Can contain bugs and lots of food for grammar nazis.

Controls: move=arrows
action=Y or Z
fle..flashlight=F

Download from gamejolt WEB for latest version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#85Mood3.82
#276Graphics3.62
#312Audio3.15
#425Overall3.31
#540Fun3.03
#544Innovation3.08
#570Humor2.42
#949Theme2.72

Comments

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Really liked this one. The atmosphere is well done. Reminds me of the feel of the Trilby series.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12am

the atmosphere is pretty neat in this one, cool art too, simple and clean, scream scared the rocks out of me though

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

Short but sweet, nice atmosphere. Simple pixel art but effective here

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Nice mood! I really like the pixel art and the concept!

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great entry. Reminds me of a game I played ages ago.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46am

Good Lone Survivor vibe from this, and loving how detailed that walk animation is :p

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Nicely done, the screaming was a good touch

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Oh god I didn't realize this was a horror game until that first scream scared the shit out of me.
Sleep deprivation and horror doesn't mix well at all...
Bravo!

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

It is not Web ? Windows is needed.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

The main character really looks creepy in the dark, fits the mood of the game. I wish it was longer.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

This game was awesome! Actually scared me! Really nice atmosphere.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

I couldn't figure out how to drink the water :/

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

There is no need for drinking that. Just grab you filled glass and go back to bed :)
And sorry for that web thing. I thought that Web means web OF game, no web WITH game :D Anyway, repaired :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

This game kicks ass!

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Short and atmospheric with nice graphics. Sometimes seems to be a little bit raw, but it doesn't kill the game itself.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Good vibes on this one, great mood.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

That was pretty scary. Thank god it's only 8pm here.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Really cool art-style and atmosphere. Scary! <3 it

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02pm

well done :)

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Creepy things here! :D Sadly so short...

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

May be bugged or something, but I can't enter the basement.. :( Must say I love that walking animation! :D

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Yea, there is little bug.. Turn on Flashlight and try to enter again :/

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Bug probably repaired.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Looks amazing.
Eerie mood with a good narrative.
Screw grammatical errors!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Scary !

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

liked the visuals..

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

The graphics are amazing, the walking animation is a little weird but it doesn't take away from the gameplay. Also, despite having no music, I really liked the audio.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Yea, i tried add some ambient music but that totally ruined mood:D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Reminds me of Lone Survivor!
Really cool art style and a great atmosphere you've got going on! Good job! :)

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Scary, which is cool. good job.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Gave me the chills.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

Great aesthetic. Loved the pixel art! Got a little confused at some parts though, even with the writing on the wall. I think the flashlight didn't work for me?

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

Probably not the best to play this at night, now I'm scared to leave my desk. Haha, loved the pixel art, the walk cycle was creepy but matched the game well, great atmosphere, nice sound, good story. Well done :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Good little horror-game.

I dont really see how it fits the theme, but whatever.

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Well... There is a weird world in cellar and that is actually beneath surface :D

monaarc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Nice geme, very scary !! :) Good job with pixel art

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

A psycho-horror game. Everything fit together well.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

nice mood and pixel art man :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very nice atmosphere. I'm not a fan of this style but that's just persnal preference, it's very well done. Story is quite confusing to be honest. Still I enjoyed it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

i like the pixel art,

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

It actually scared me, and Im not easily scared!! Really nice ambiance!

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Hehe, i am really glad you like my game :D

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Super creepy! Very well done for 48 hours!

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12am

Creepy. As. Heck.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Hi. Like the idea, the spidery walk and the aged TV/film effect done through shimmering pixels. Wish there was more to do.

madmaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Really solid entry

Druid says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17am

Thank you :)

May 1, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Cool game really scared me! That was good work!
BUT : I think sounds you didn't make yourself are not allowed in the Compo, only in the Jam. Also, technically it's not even allowed to have someone help you translate your game (you must work solo...), but that's a minor issue.

Druid says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:29am

I must have misunderstood the rules. I thought that sound effects are allowed, if they are free. Background sounds (rain and stuff...) are made with generator. But other sounds are downloaded... Maybe it is little unfair. But it's not like that i downloaded sounds and put them directly to the game. I made some editing in audacity. So, i lost time with editing too. And about that translating thing... Well,english is not my native language and i never studied it. So, i have just spambot level :D . And is little unfair to put here game just in my native language. Nobody can enjoy game if is in laguage which is used just by small european state :D (and if you can at least understand my comment, you really must know, i need help with english :D ) But still, i break few rules, so... I understand if i got disqualified or penalized :) Maybe is this my first LD but ignorance is no excuse :)

Bashosha says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:44am

So creepy, it scared me a lot :(

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:15am

Nice game.

Druid says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:49am

Thx guys :)

May 2, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Well that was scary, great work :D

May 2, 2014 @ 4:38pm

@Druid : Hey no, I don't think you'll get disqualified or something like that, I just wanted to tell you about it. I guess I like rules, and so, try to abey them (at least in a jam...). I guess nothing will happen, don't worry. You're certainly not the only one breaking a few rules, who cares! ;)

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Wow so scary !!!

minism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:02am

Fantastic mood

Mekuri says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Love the graphics style. Somewhat short, but nice mood!

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Amazing visuals. I mean, it is really efficient and immersive. And beautiful. Just a few pixels and you're in the story, bravo. Only one thing bothered me : the game is a little bit short and the ending is slightly disappointing. Great work anyway.

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:39pm

short but a nice one

May 5, 2014 @ 3:27am

Pretty cool game. Haven't seen too many scary games in this jam, so it was a nice change.

May 5, 2014 @ 3:50am

Urine seems to have appeared in my pants.

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:56am

Love the graphics!

Garris says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:25am

Oh man, this was CREEPY! Great atmosphere, tons of tension. This was scary. Well done.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:30am

brilliant dark atmosphere, like the game!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really spooky game, well done!

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Really nice, would like to see a longer game to come out of this LD entry! :)

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

Kinda confusing in places, more than scary, but I liked the audio. My futile attempts to try all the lights added to the tense atmosphere.

May 10, 2014 @ 7:22am

Graphics, audio and mood were nice. Nice effort. Little confusing in a couple of spots, but easily fixed with some polish.

ioboi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I really like the graphics and the creepy atmosphere of this game :)

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:52am

The web version didn't work at all for me, but the Windows version did. Well done, I enjoyed the gloomy atmosphere.

praporomsk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Atmosperic game, but it too short, it ends on most interesting moment.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]