Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SneakyLink

by thristhart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SneakyLink - A game about chatting, infiltration and misdirection; about seeing beneath the surface impression and really understanding someone else.

... in theory, anyway. In actuality, it's a game about chatting, mostly. I spent too long making a window manager in Javascript (!) and making it look pretty, and didn't have enough time to make an actually compelling plot. If conversations seem to abruptly end, that's because I ran out of time to write the rest of it...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Innovation4.31
#115Humor3.41
#176Mood3.54
#360Overall3.38
#365Fun3.26
#738Graphics2.88
#746Theme3.04
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

I love the concept! Please make this a long game.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice graphics!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22am

this is a really interesting idea for a game and really well implemented 5 star

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35am

Duuude :D This is awesome! :D I like the idea soo much!

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

Really interesting idea. I loved the humor in it. It was amusing to play through. :)

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50am

Enjoyed the concept. Wasn't very interesting to keep me for very long though.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

Great idea for a game, I'd like to play a fuller version of it. Very immersive and I liked the writing, the different suspects all had their own believable style.

One tip on the UI - it took me a long time to figure out I had to click in the bottom left to change who I was chatting to.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

I am friends with Barcelona!!!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very cool!
The intrigue is very... intriguing.
I didn't even think of some of the complexities before talking to Wherez.
The concept definitely deserves a finished game.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Really intriguing game, gotta give it to you, very damn impressive for a concept and execution. Two thumbs way up!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

This is an awesome game! I loved it! Sometimes it said 'undefined' though.

thristhart says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

Yeah, I didn't have time to bugfix thoroughly. Literally pushed my last commit with a minute remaining. Ah well!

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Awesome game concept! Would like to see this completed and further extended in regard of story, possibilities and graphics. I had problems with undefined values, repeated dialogue with wherez and the status indicator in the chat app wasn't updated correctly.

Thaumic says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:20am

Very compelling to play. I would love to see the bugs fixed and this to be expanded upon.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]