Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tick Attack

by hanoth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made Tick Attack as my first Ludum Dare entry. It was written in Monkey-X, using FantomEngine. I made the graphics in Acorn, the sounds in CFXR, and the music in GarageBand.

The controls are simple - click the ticks to make them disappear before they dig in and get BENEATH THE SURFACE of your skin. Eww.

The Web version is HTML5. I put an untested OS X version out there too. Enjoy!

UPDATE 1: Ported to Flash and Android
UPDATE 2: I removed the OS X version and replaced it with an iPhone version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#269Theme3.60
#271Humor2.94
#424Audio2.96
#706Graphics2.93
#772Fun2.77
#801Mood2.71
#830Overall2.90
#956Innovation2.53

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

Simple and fun, congrats on your first entry! I like the take on the theme.

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

Makes my skin itch.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Damn... some of them are really big. Goosebumps....

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

If I had that many ticks crawling on me. . . man, I would freak. :)

pixelpun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

I like how the bugs crawl over the score and the ui.... I am really itchy now... Nice entry :)

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

Ugh, gave me the shivers playing this! Fits really well for the theme though, so I applaud you, nice job!

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08am

Thanks, all, for the kind comments. I've been itchy since I started working on it.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Good take on the theme.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05am

Ugh! This game makes me feel uneasy. I really like where you took the theme.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

This is so simple and mind relaxing... Very good!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

Love the music in this one! Makes me want to scratch at my skin...

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

Absolutely disgusting. And hilarious. Both the Flash and HTML5 versions work great. I felt like the 'buzzing' noise could be quieter so you can hear the music better. The music is perfect! Nice job!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

I tried to get rid of them but at the end they won. I wouldn't like that situation in real life.

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

Guh, ticks are the worst. Really like the execution tho.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57am

Reminds me of mariopaint. good job.

Jake_Cohen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:48am

this would be fun on an iPad, upgrades could be cool and easy to implement for extended replay-ability

brogrammers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16pm

My highscore: 68.
Fun little game!

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

perfect game, except for the part where I got the skin crawlies. *shudder*

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Grossss! Nice job.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

WOW that really creeped me out hahahah. I was really unsettled by the ticks crawling everywhere. I thought it was pretty fun though! The Web one froze on me, and I think the Flash one was on its way to freezing. On my third attempt I was able to get it! My best wasn't very good, it was 30-something, but I got overwhelmed pretty quickly.

SecularBaron says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Gross... Cool game.

vicious_br says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:36am

yuck! but great fun!!! hahaha,

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Ew. I think I'll stay inside this summer.

The "kill" sound was annoying.

Stereo sound would be a nice addition to give a little hint on where you should look.

Stratovarius says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:49pm

You're right, our games are pretty similar, both in style and gameplay. Pretty neat!

wicht says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Android Version breaks with a classnotfound exception.

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:48am

@wicht - Sorry about that. I don't have an Android phone so I'm kind of flying blind on it. I've compiled a new version that runs ok on my Ouya, and am publishing it right now. I'll update the page again when it's up.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice take on the theme!

caranha says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:59am

Congrats on your first game! Played the web version on my android phone - android version did not work. Some feedback:

- could not hear any sound.
- some sort of feedback when you splat a tick would be good - an animation or sound effect.

nice use of the theme! thanks for your game :)

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:31am

OK, I think I FINALLY have the Android version working right. It's now in both the Google Play store (linked above) and the Amazon Appstore - http://amzn.com/B00K3BEQ3S

vladimirdlc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Playing this game makes you feel incomfortable in your own skin, that's an achievement itself. Cool first entry, really creative take on the theme.
Regarding the sound, I would have preferred softer sfx's, and on the web version there is no music.

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Oh man, that's so creepy (which I'm sure was your intent!). It's really simple, but it gets the job done. I felt like the bugs were a little harder to click than I expected, though. But great job making a game that makes my skin crawl and makes me want to take a shower, in a good way. :)

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:03pm

@vladimirdlc - Thanks for the feedback. Which browser were you using for the web version? Just curious since the music plays on mine on Chrome.

ceosol says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice little entry. The music/sound was definitely a good offset for watching ticks burrowing into the skin :D

May 4, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice use of the theme

evilDan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Rad - loved the banjo (but it made me itchy <the game, not the banjo>)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Simple game with no innovation, but implemented well. :)

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:35am

I'm never going camping...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]