Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

It Came From... Beneath!!

by Deozaan - Jam Entry

Use A and D or left/right arrow keys to steer your worm.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#292Humor(Jam)2.77
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#463Audio(Jam)2.85
#594Mood(Jam)2.65
#637Innovation(Jam)2.41
#642Graphics(Jam)2.60

Comments

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06am

Pretty fun, I kinda want to control in the air and eat dude on the way down too.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Nice - controls remind me of my game, although with a worm instead of a surfer. If the worm could also do tricks, that would be radical.

Despite a lack of polish, I still had fun launching my worm around. Don't take that quote out of context.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11am

Lol I was expecting death worm games with this theme! Nothing new, but fun nevertheless!

The controls are a bit clunky though. Also, those dying sounds are kinda awful. D:

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13am

Pretty fun :) Would probably work on mobile with some slight alterations and additions!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14am

Reminds me a lot of deathworm, it's just really repetitive and I'm not that motivated to keep playing. Keep up the work though!

crustforever says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23am

Pretty fun, I enjoyed eating everyone. Was really cool to see half your body get blown off.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44am

Art seems very simple yet nice. could do with more features but is a good base to a game!

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45am

Loved this, it plays really well. The control/motion of the worm feels right to me.
If you can add a few more game elements/levels, that would be awesome.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48am

Simple but really enjoyable! Gets better the longer you play it :) Nice soundtrack also!

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50am

That was actually really awesome. I loved how the velocity increased the bigger you grew. As well as the music, the music really enhances this game.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Cool one! I liked how it slows down when it gets into the air!

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:58am

Worm games... worm games forever ya'll!

This game is surprisingly fun. Very simple and fun. Excellent decision regarding the camera. I think if you combined the way your worm gets cut in half with the mechanic of multiple worms from this game (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=527), you'd have an amazing combo. Imagine instead of ever hurting the player, you're just giving them more worms to have running around! You know, cause don't worms have like 5 hearts and like live when you cut them in half?

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Fun game, a bit glitchy and those dying sounds get annoying real fast. But still, had a lot of fun playing it.

lasagnegames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:41am

it is a Super Mega Worm clone but...i enjoyed it anyway

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice game with a good mechanic, needs some progression to keep playing, e.g. game end w/highscore or time limit. Good music.

MrBlade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I wish you could control your worm in the air. The sounds seem a random and way too loud. Overall good job. Nice graphics.

Deozaan says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:11am

@lasagnegames I didn't know what it was, so I just looked up Super Mega Worm. It looks awesome. (c:

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Pretty fun game. Would have been nice to see a little more variety in enemies. Pretty addicting just trying to see how large you can get though

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

Loved the bg music and gameplay :)

broepi says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:18am

Holy shit, what am I? I'm a goddamn beast from beneath the surface xD
Really Great thing! Except it could use slightly more detailed graphics and at some point there are no people left to eat.. But the gameplay brings eternal joy!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]